Too Old for BookIt?

With the New Year coming many people are setting up reading goals. I have never in my adult life set a reading goal. The last time I had one set I was involved in the BookIt program where I got a free personal pizza when the goal was met. Now my youngest is in that program through his school. Maybe I should set up a reward system similar to this for me this year but I’ll do chocolate instead of pizza.

There are books I want to read this year. Books I am really looking forward to being released. One of the ones at the top of my list is Heartless by Kelly Martin. I was lucky enough to receive and ARC of this so I will actually be able to start it when the New Year chimes in.

12299148_10153706135215915_3115332123828741456_n

For thirteen years, Gracen Sullivan dreamed about a red-eyed demon named Hart Blackwell who tortured her every night. Her mother freaked when she found out about her daughter’s “hallucinations” and forced Gracen to go to the doctor, who prescribed some very powerful medication which kept Hart out of her head for five years.

A week ago, Hart came back and brought a friend.

But something has changed, and Gracen is seeing Hart when she’s awake too. And the other “friends” in her dreams? They have been found dead.

The police want to talk to her.

Her boyfriend has become distant.

Her dreams are becoming more and more intense.

Hell wants her.

Heaven has to stop her.

When push comes shoving, can Gracen fight the evil eating away inside her or will she be forced to embrace it and destroy the world?

 

 

Heartless will be released January 17, 2016. It is up for preorder on Amazon.

The next book on my list is Stuck On Cloud Eight by J.L. Salter. I just finished up Pleased To Meet Me and Jeff never disappoints so I am really looking forward to his newest novel (newest to me) Stuck On Cloud Eight. I bought it the day it came out but started on my Christmas reading list shortly after so I have not had a chance to read it yet.

Stuck on Cloud-8-front-final

Since Keri Winter’s tomboy childhood dream had been to one day possess her own tree house, it does not bother her one bit to be known as the monkey lady, after she actually built her home in a tree.

But most of the young men in town – some of whom Keri remembers from their school years – hold no interest for her at all. In fact, she seems pretty unapproachable – literally and figuratively – with her head up in the clouds. It would take a mighty tall man to reach Keri’s level and attract her romantic interest. And even if the right man could reach her, could Keri trust him?

Rusty Battle figures he’s got the right stuff, but in order to prove it, he has to get Keri’s attention and focus.
They’re about to learn proximity can sometimes make the heart grow fonder… or it just might drive Keri crazy.

Stuck On Cloud Eight is available on Amazon now.

The next book on my list is The Mannequin by Suzanne G. Rogers. I purchased this book today, the title caught my eye and the blurb intrigued me enough to cause me to purchase it. I will start on this once I finish the other two books I have listed here.

510j0tFOrnL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

When she was a poor country girl in a hand-me-down dress, Rosamund saved the Duke of Swanhaven from the brink of despair…only to fall in love with him. Now a celebrated mannequin for an exclusive London dressmaker, her glamorous life is empty without the man to whom she gave her heart. Can a beastly duke and a beautiful mannequin ever find a fairy-tale ending?

You can pick up The Mannequin on Amazon now.

I am waiting to be released are The Glass Coffin also by Kelly Martin. It is the third book in the Shattered Fairy Tale series and I have been waiting for it since I finished the second book, two days after it was released. 🙂
I am also looking forward to any releases from Wendy Knight. I love that I can read her books and then talk about them with my children. I have to buy 3 copies whenever she releases a book. One for myself and one for each of my teenagers.

 

Is there a book that you are looking forward to in 2016?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Too Old for BookIt?

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Delighted to see one of my titles on your TBR list. Thank you!
    These other two also look like excellent choices.
    I’m so far behind on my reading that I can barely express it… though I’ll attempt that expression tomorrow on Hound Day.

    Like

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I have Stuck on Cloud Nine and the Mannequin on my kindle app, so I’ll probably tackle those as soon as I’m done with the four I named on Monday. They all sound great! The Book it program wasn’t around when I was young, but as a teacher I used it with my classes, and my kids got many pizzas that way, too. I like your idea of rewarding yourself with chocolate. Maybe for me it will be craft supplies. Hmmm…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I will have to get to Kelly’s; I do like her very much. My list will be up on Friday.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

