Wrestling, history, and costumes

Sorry that I am a little late posting. I knew what book I wanted to review this week but I didn’t have as much reading time so I had to finish up the book. I don’t like leaving a review before I finished the story. I know that Patty wrote about this same book on Monday but I did not have time to read something else or to contact someone to do a guest post by the time I realized we were doing the same book.

This week I read Fortuna by Elaine Cantrell. This is the second book by her that I have read. I have to say that I enjoyed it. While the story centers on Aimee and Cade the other characters are well developed. So much so that I was very interested in June’s story. The small town where Aimee moved to is filled with quirkiness and charm. It is the sort of place you would want to visit on vacation. Seems like it would be a lot of fun.

Cade and Rocky were both wrestlers and Aimee worked for Rocky so there is enough wrestling in the story to make a girl who used to watch wrestling back when it was called WWF miss it a little bit.

After purchasing a historical house Rocky wants to restore it and there the journey really starts to take off. Being thrown into all of this history Aimee makes the best of it and starts her own business creating period costumes. I really enjoyed the growth that Aimee went through, getting to see her develop and learn what she wanted out of life.

The story was a cute and fun read and will mark it as a 5 star read on Amazon since I will probably read it again.

If you like wrestling, history, or costumes then this fun read will be for you.

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wrestling, history, and costumes

  1. I was surprised by Elaine’s choice of subject, which actually has a cute explanation! I have not read the books.My grown niece often puts me onto books, often, series of books. Although I am not into wrestling, she had quite a ‘thing” for “The Undertaker” for some years. I will pass the recommendation along.

    Like

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I agree with you about the secondary characters, Angie. It would be fun to read a sequel with June’s story! I loved the sisters who lived on Cade’s property, too.

    Like

  3. jeff7salter says:

    I can see I need to move Elaine’s novel higher on my TBR list.
    Seems like both Patty and Angie really like it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

