Would You Read My Book…Please?

Interview

Copyright: <a href=’http://www.123rf/profile_adamgregor’>adamgregor/123RF Stock Photo</a>

I like to meet people, and normally I’m not too shy to strike up a conversation. I’m even fairly comfortable speaking in front of groups, having spent many years teaching and conducting workshops. But trying to convince someone to like something I’ve created does not appeal to me. I tend to get tongue-tied once in a while – even when talking about a subject I’m totally familiar with – like music education, sewing, scrapbooking, etc. I guess it’s the idea that there’s something at stake – if the person to whom I’m pitching my book or my writing isn’t receptive, then I’ve lost a chance. I’ve failed.

I’ve had opportunities to pitch to editors and agents. At various writing conferences, most notably the Spring Fling Conference put on by Chicago North RWA, one of the “extras” offered is a scheduled time with someone from a literary agency. I’ve just never taken advantage of those opportunities. At first it was because I didn’t feel I had anything worth pitching. Later, it was because I’d found a home with a smaller e-publisher and was comfortable with that. So I guess if I were to decide to seek representation by an agent it would happen only if e-publishing were to somehow become obsolete and the traditional way of doing things were to return (which I don’t see happening) and traditional publishing was the only course of action. So unless the unthinkable happens I imagine I won’t need to put myself though the agony of baring my soul to someone who might say “no thank you” and break my heart.

Unfortunately, this week’s “assignment” is to write my elevator pitch. I’m supposed to try and convince a big time publishing executive to publish my books – and do it in two minutes or less. I guess can do that. Writing is less intimidating. If you’re the agent and you’re not interested, I won’t see your eyes shift, your body language telling me you wish you were somewhere else. I won’t have to smile and pretend I’m okay when you tell me I’m not what you’re looking for. So I’ll do it. The question is: should I write a pitch for a book I’ve already written and published, or one that I’m working on?

Hmm…

I think I’ll let you guess! Here’s my pitch.

Lavinia Hornswaggle has had it with her suburban soccer-mom life. Her tattooed multi-pierced bubble-blowing manicurist convinces her to take off on a cross-country motorcycle trip with a gang of balloon artists on a mission to save the world from eternal boredom. The epic journey presents more than its share of challenges: saddle sores, windburn, ratty hair, and empty gas tanks. But she finds the rewards are worth the pain. With her new friends, Lavinia finally discovers what she’s been searching for her entire life – the secret to applying her contact lenses with one hand.

Lavinia and the Helium Hellcats is the first in a series called Menopausal Mavens.

Would you buy this book?

About Patricia Kiyono

During her first career, Patricia Kiyono taught elementary music, computer classes, elementary classrooms, and junior high social studies. She now teaches music education at the university level. She lives in southwest Michigan with her husband, not far from her five children, nine grandchildren (so far), and great-granddaughters. Current interests, aside from writing, include sewing, crocheting, scrapbooking, and music. A love of travel and an interest in faraway people inspires her to create stories about different cultures. Check out her sweet historical contemporary romances at her Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Patricia-Kiyono/e/B0067PSM5C/
This entry was posted in agents, imagination, Patricia Kiyono, traditional publishing, Uncategorized, What if and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Would You Read My Book…Please?

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Love your pitch!
    Sign HERE ______.
    That’s a great story [ LOL ] you’re cooking up. Kinda reminds me of a concept I was piddling with, in which I threw in everything currently “popular” but the kitchen sink.
    But maybe one day I’ll write it…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great story idea! Is this one you have already signed or are you still working on it?

    Like

  3. Joselyn says:

    Oh Patti!! I love it!!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Oh, dear! If I were an agent,I’d push the emergency button! How funny!

    Like

Leave a Reply

