I’m new here!

I am so delighted to join the Four Foxes, One Hound blog. Since this is the free topic week, I thought I’d introduce myself.
My name is Joselyn Vaughn. I am a stay at home mom whose children have all recently started school five days a week. In theory, I have thirty-five hours a week to write. In reality, it’s probably five hours of Facebook, two hours of Pinterest, four and a half hours of other home-related business stuff, thirty minutes of writing, and I don’t know what happens to the rest.
The stories I write are romantic comedies set in small towns with some eccentric characters. The Meddlesome Matchmakers series is being re-released with new covers in March. It includes Sucker for a Hot Rod, Climbing Heartbreak Hill, and Hauntings of the Heart. My latest new story is a Christmas novella called Seeing You Again.
My three children are in second grade and kindergarten. They are all super readers and devour books. My son, one of the second graders, will stop me when I have five minutes to go on the treadmill (meaning I have to stop my show, stop my timer, take my earbuds out, and stop the treadmill) so that he can tell me that he finished the Magic Treehouse book he started at bedtime. My daughter has plans to write a book that she wants me to illustrate so that she can sell it at garage sales next summer. She has a better marketing plan than I do. The youngest is figuring out her letters and adding things to the grocery list like MNE BGELs. (It’s mini bagels.)
My husband is an engineer and puts up with all my technical questions. Anything automotive, construction, or plumbing related he answers for me. I made the car in Sucker for a Hot Rod a Datsun 240Z because he would be an expert on any details I might need.
We have recently acquired a Great Dane with severe separation anxiety. When she is in her crate while we are gone, she drools enough for her to take a bath in it. If we don’t put her in her crate, she eats my new shoes. I am debating about changing her name to Sassy, short for Sasquatch Bait, and taking her for a long walk in the national forest.
As you may have guessed, one of my other pursuits is running. I run. A lot. I am training for my fifth marathon in May, so most evenings, I climb on the treadmill, pull up one of my favorite shows- Arrow, The Flash, Hart of Dixie- or some B-disaster movie (Sharknado!) and run for an hour or so. A year and a half ago, I qualified for the Boston Marathon. My goal is to qualify again this year. My running adventures are chronicled at http://endurancegirlruns.wordpress.com.
When I’m not occupied with any of the above, I like to sew. I recently discovered fidget quilts for seniors with dementia and can’t wait to make some for an adult respite care service that is starting at a local church.
Thank you so much for having me at Four Foxes, One Hound.
About Joselyn

SAHM writing romance with at a case of the giggles. Former librarian. Avid reader. Runner.
This entry was posted in Preparing for writing, romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I’m new here!

  1. Patricia Kiyono says:

    We are so pleased you agreed to join us, Joselyn! I’m always amazed at your energy, and I love reading about your projects. I’m going to have to look up fidget quilts!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jeff7salter says:

    Hearty welcome to our new Tuesday Fox.
    Reading your partial list of activities, interests, and obligations, I’m a little surprised you agreed to join us. But delighted!
    Gosh, you’re a busy person. Just reading your list made me want to sit in my recliner for an hour or two.
    I notice you didn’t mention previously having had at least two novels published with Avalon. That’s not a secret, is it?
    BTW, do your three children include a set of twins?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joselyn says:

      Thanks so much for inviting me! My first two books were published with Avalon which was bought out by Montlake. I have 4 novels and a novella with Clean Reads, and a novella with Eskape.

      My second-graders are twins.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jeff7salter says:

        Folks, she runs, she writes, she creates, and she chased after TWINS! Wow — bottle that energy and sell me some.

        Like

  3. I am so pleased that you have joined us, Joselyn! I know you will be a great addition to our show here. My mother used to use this quote:”If you want something done, give it to a busy person”, so I know you’ll be with us weekly, since you are one busy person! Plus, you have great life experience and and you have a good heart.
    Welcome!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I met Joselyn in 2014 at the my first book event, It was clean readers event hosted by RM (Robin) Alexander and that is where I believe I also met Patricia and so many other authors that I am still following (stalking) and on many of their private sites on Facebook. If memory serves me, Joselyn makes handbags from men’s shirts? and some other cute items. I also have some of her books.
    Welcome to the site, I think you will be an excellent addition. I try to check in often, but some days between my emails (over 300 daily) FB post and what I am reading I just gloss over and don’t actually comment.

    Liked by 4 people

  5. trishafaye says:

    I want to drink what you’re drinking!
    Oh my! I knew you had a full plate, but I didn’t know about half these projects. And twins to boot! I feel like such a slacker now.
    Nice to see you here!

    Like

Leave a Reply

