Not Leaping Very High

It Didn’t Feel Like an Extra Day

By Jeff Salter

We’re talking about that “extra” day we get on Feb. 29, nearly every four years. But before I get wound up, let’s straighten out this business concerning babies born on that date. The odds of being born on Feb. 29 are one in 1,461 — so there aren’t as many Leap Day Birthdays as you might imagine. However, people born on Feb. 29 are sometimes called leaplings — which makes me very glad I’m a December kid.

If you’re interested in my previous Leap Year ravings – including several practical suggestions about viable alternatives to utilizing Feb. 29 every four years – check out my blog from this time in 2012:
https://fourfoxesonehound.wordpress.com/2012/03/01/leap-year-2/

leap-year

These days, folks, (being retired) I’m not all that driven by the calendar anyway. Except for Sunday mornings and Wednesday evenings, most of my outside commitments relate to visiting my mom daily and exercising three times a week. So, if external hoopla had not drawn my attention to this unique Monday, I likely would have eased into March without even realizing it took an extra day to reach it.

My particular Monday this week was tied up in edits, Facebook posts, blogs, an on-line book party, emails, exercise, visiting my mom, hauling the trash to the curb, eating supper with our daughter and her kids — and taking a short, late nap. Pretty much an ordinary day.

Dealing with the extra day

But if we are “due” an extra day, why not make the most of it? By that, I mean DON’T do your regular stuff, but instead do something really special! Though it’s not likely to happen (for multiple reasons), I could imagine spending that extra day:

*** reading Books Two and Three in Rick Atkinson’s Liberation trilogy (which I started several years ago)

*** re-watching all ten episodes of Band of Brothers

*** re-watching all 12 episodes of Fawlty Towers

*** finish watching that first season of “24” which my son gave me for Christmas a while back

*** catching up on about 20 episodes of the Walking Dead series, so I’d have a clue what everybody is fussing about

*** taking a day-long nap

Suggestions from others

Searching the Internet for Leap Year ideas, I found a few suggestions I kinda liked:

*** Consider it a do-over day — In case your New Year’s resolutions have somewhat fallen by the wayside, why not use this day to start over again? Get those resolutions back on track!

*** Create a Leap Year time capsule — that you’ll open on the next leap year. Items could include lists of movies, music, books, and magazines you’re enjoying today. Or why not write a note or letter to the future you relating what’s going on in your life right now. Open it in 2020 and see how things have changed.

Several more specific suggestions for how to utilize the ‘extra’ day:

http://www.inc.com/ilan-mochari/leap-year-productivity-magic-february-29.html

Great article about the history of this calendar quirk:

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/this-britain/seize-the-day-the-magic-and-mystery-of-leap-years-788491.html

Question:

Did YOU do anything special on Monday? Is Feb. 29 – when it comes around – just another day to you?

[JLS # 269]

About jeff7salter

Currently writing romantic comedy, screwball comedy, and romantic suspense. Twelve completed novels and five completed novellas. Working with three royalty publishers: Clean Reads, Dingbat Publishing, & TouchPoint Press/Romance. "Size Matters" -- Oct. 2016 "The Duchess of Earl" -- Jul. 2016 "Stuck on Cloud Eight" -- Nov. 2015, "Pleased to Meet Me" (novella) -- Oct. 2015, "One Simple Favor" (novella) -- May 2015, "The Ghostess & MISTER Muir" -- Oct. 2014, "Scratching the Seven-Month Itch" -- Sept. 2014, "Hid Wounded Reb" -- Aug. 2014, "Don't Bet On It" (novella) -- April 2014, "Curing the Uncommon Man-Cold -- Dec. 2013, "Echo Taps" (novella) -- June 2013, "Called To Arms Again" -- (a tribute to the greatest generation) -- May 2013, "Rescued By That New Guy in Town" -- Oct. 2012, "The Overnighter's Secrets" -- May 2012. Co-authored two non-fiction books about librarianship (with a royalty publisher), a chapter in another book, and an article in a specialty encyclopedia. Plus several library-related articles and reviews. Also published some 120 poems, about 150 bylined newspaper articles, and some 100 bylined photos. Worked about 30 years in librarianship. Formerly newspaper editor and photo-journalist. Decorated veteran of U.S. Air Force (including a remote ‘tour’ of duty in the Arctic … at Thule AB in N.W. Greenland). Married; father of two; grandfather of six.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Not Leaping Very High

  1. There were three babies born on Leap Day in Muscatine. Which lead to a conversation with my oldest child about celebrating Leap Day birthdays. Leaplings is a cute title.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeff7salter says:

      Leaplings is a cool name for some sci fic story… but it would creep me out to be called that if I had the misfortune to be born on 2/29

      Like

  2. Interesting! We inhaled the whole ’24’ series, even when it got even more outrageous and a little dry, it was worth going after, if you get into the whole thing, as over-the-top as it is.We sure did.
    I didn’t know you were a Fawlty man! Between my sister, niece, husband and I , not more than a couple of days go by at the most without a Fawlty quote!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeff7salter says:

      I’ve only seen F.T. in dribs and drabs — and not any for many years. But when I went to check on the inventory (for possible purchase) I was astonished there had been only 12 episodes total.
      Some have not held up all that well, but a few are priceless.

      Like

  3. Joselyn says:

    I would not be opposed to a day long nap, especially since I woke up to my husband’s alarm at 5 this morning and ended up getting up before he did.

    I love the idea of restarting your resolutions. By the end of February, it is so easy to get off track. Great time to get your keister back in gear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeff7salter says:

      well, you’re so organized and already so motivated, that it seems you’d hardly need a do-over on resolutions.

      Like

  4. jbrayweber says:

    Leaplings. Huh…learned somethin’ new every day.
    To me, it’s just another day like any other. *shrug*

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I like the idea of a “do over” day, too. Considering the amount of chocolate I’ve consumed in the last week, when I’m supposed to be counting my calories, a do over is definitely in order there. Your idea of a gift that needs to be used is a good one, too. I got a coloring book for Christmas and I have yet to use it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

