“Free” Day ?

We were asked what we’d do with our ‘extra day’, this being a Leap Year; I wish it were that simple.

My days don’t often go as planned.

If I had all my ducks in a row and all the drama confined, I’d love to say that I would have a completely free day to do just as I wish.

I wish!

Unfortunately, Leap Day doesn’t come with its own name and isn’t set apart. It falls right in line as a day in any other week and this year, it even fell a Monday…need I say more?

But going with the thought of a really extra day, let’s speculate.

If my husband were home, we might get some of what we have decided could go, gone, actually taken away from the house and garage. It’s sitting, waiting.

If my grandson were here, we might take a day trip.

If my granddaughters were here, we might do a project for Easter.

If I were alone, with the luxury of a ‘free day’, I’d read, I’d tackle another closet and I’d WRITE.

I had neglected my works for a while. I started reworking one of them and read back over the novel I started just to get back into the story last week, but I have been tied-up by everyone around me. To top things off, I dropped my writings again because my grandson told me of two ideas he had for books. One was so good I told him that he had to write it, but he said couldn’t figure out how to go with it. The premise has to do with a married couple and he feels out of his league. I told him I’d help him. However, he is an active 13 year old who has been writing his own ‘Broadcast’ copies for Speech and Drama competitions, so he is, actually, writing.(He had written a couple of manuscripts for children’s books a few years back.) The storyline wouldn’t leave me alone and the story started writing itself in my head the other day. I jumped to the computer and kept going back to it. Alas, I have been interrupted. (Even now as I type this, I am baking a birthday cake, trying a new “healthy” recipe at the request of #1 Son for his wife.) With a whole day, I would probably get most of the story down.

As I told my husband about the idea of an extra, free day. He said, “As long as it would be a really free day, no one working”, I interjected, “No excuse for sales”. “Right, no banking, no interest…and no sickness.”

Ah, well. Maybe I can petition for “Leap Day” to be a “Free Day” for everyone, (although I don’t know how to enable a ‘no sickness’ clause). Let’s face it, even if I did manage to get everyone to agree to a ‘free day’, it wouldn’t be available for at least four more years, and I can’t wait, nor can my writings.

Have any ideas?

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in authors, big plans, Family, Life, Tonette Joyce, What if, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “Free” Day ?

  1. Patricia Kiyono says:

    So true, Tonette. We can’t plan for family emergencies. This weekend is the beginning of my spring break and I have lofty goals for the week. But my calendar is quickly filling up – and I still have papers to grade! I got behind because my husband spent a day and a half in the hospital last weekend and I couldn’t concentrate on the paperwork while doctors and nurses were coming and going from his room. I’ve got to re-adjust my goals, I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jeff7salter says:

    I hope you’re able to carve out an equitable schedule of activity with home / family / grandkids / healthiness to find more space for your writing.
    Yet, I certainly understand how fighting all those other fires can drain one’s energy and expend so much creativity.
    Yes — health [one’s own, and caring for others with health issues ] is a huge factor in whether we can EVER actually enjoy a “free” day to do what we’d wish.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I thought I had found a bit of a rhythm, Jeff, and was at it for a while.I think I have too many irons in the fire! This week is unusual with a lot of late nights and early mornings…and a snooze in between!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Maybe you and your grandson can collaborate on that idea together. It would be a great way to spend time together.

    Like

    • Actually, yes.I have been asking his input in the story and it’s working, so it is basically HIS story. We spend as much time as possible together.We are very close, Angie.He’s my inspiration for just about everything!

      Like

Leave a Reply

