Cool Without the AC

As I am writing this post about power outages there is a severe thunderstorm warning and a tornado watch issued where I live. We’re ready if the power does go out. I have several battery powered lanterns and a few cute spring theme paper lanterns. If the lights go out then we may as well have a little bit of fun. What is more fun than reading by lantern light and having paper lanterns lead the way down the hallway?

I remember the power going out enough when I was younger that I had my own kerosene lantern. I was always reading and I enjoyed being able to light my lantern and read with the flickering light while a storm raged outside the window.

It seems that the power goes out most often in the summer months when we get severe thunderstorms. One year (after my siblings and I were all grown and out on our own) a storm ripped through town and knocked out the power. Of course my sister and I both found ourselves down at my parents’ house to check on the damage there. With the power out of course there was no air conditioning. My kids and I were hot and slightly miserable until we got down to my childhood home. Sitting outside in the yard, talking and telling stories we were just as cool as we would have been in we had been inside with the central air on. My parents yard is shaded by 4 large trees, the garage at one end, the house on the other. So with the shade and the cool breeze that came through it certainly did NOT feel like the 90 degrees that it was. I think it helps that my parents live about 2 blocks from the river so it seems cooler there than other parts of town.

Our day was spent in the yard eating ice cream, on the one ice cream run we did so the freezer was only opened once. Playing tag with the kids, cooking out on the grill, simply enjoying each others company. The power was back on before it was dark but we stayed outside, built a fire in the fire pit and made s’mores while we watched the lightening bugs light up the yard.

I’ve never really been bothered by power outages. They never lasted longer than a day here. I’m the kind of person who enjoys not having the distractions caused by tv and computers. I have several board games, several lanterns and candles, lots of coloring books, and shelves full of books so we don’t get bored if we can’t watch tv.

I think one of my favorite activities when the power is out in the summer is Blind Mans Bluff with the kids. As long as the storm has passed you’ll find us outside enjoying the day.
Do you have a favorite activity to pass the time during a power outage?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cool Without the AC

  1. Patricia Kiyono says:

    We’ve got windstorm warnings here today, so I imagine some areas around us will lose power. Sounds like you’re ready for whatever happens! But I agree, not having electricity forces us to concentrate on each other rather than the devices we depend on. Stay safe!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Joselyn says:

    My son told me I would be lost without the power because I’m always on my kindle or computer. Well, I can write and read without either one. It’s just a lot more convenient. 🙂

    Our power used to go out more frequently, but since they fixed that transformer, it’s not as often. It hasn’t even flickered in the last few storms. Probably a bonus of being on the same grid as the hospital.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. jeff7salter says:

    I really admire your positive approach to these outages. You’re prepared, and you stay safe, but you don’t get all tensed up. It shows a lot of creativity and flexibility. In my case, when the power does go out, it seems always to be when I’m right in the middle of something (important to me) which requires, usually, both electricity and internet.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

