Is it Spring…Already?

To doYesterday was the First Day of Spring, and our topic this week is how we deal with spring fever. But even though I dislike the hassle of driving through deep snow and worrying about whether or not my kids and grandkids get to their destinations safely, I don’t really mind winter – it’s a fact of life here in Michigan. I don’t get spring fever because I’ve always preferred to be indoors no matter what time of year it is. I don’t mind the outdoors – it’s just not where I choose to be. When I go outside, it’s often because I need to get from one place to another, or to check on a grandchild or pet who’s gone out to play.

I’m not a total hermit. We have a three-season porch on the back of our house, and there’s a nice table and chairs out there. Once the warm weather is here to stay we’ll open the storm windows out there and most days a nice breeze will blow through it. Sometimes I’ll take my laptop out there to write – because inside, my hubby will have the television on and I need to avoid the distraction. As far as I’m concerned, that’s close enough to being outdoors. And two or three times a week I will lace up my gym shoes and walk around the “long block” – which is almost a mile.

So I guess I have to look at this question with a different slant than others. The original question posed to us was “How do you battle the desire to be outside enjoying the fresh air?” But for me, it seems the question is “How do I overcome my preference for being indoors?” Rather than anxiously awaiting the time when I can do things outdoors, I have to psych myself into leaving my comfy home. When I go for walks, it’s not because I enjoy it, but because I know I need the exercise. I’ve mentioned my daily to-do list – today’s list actually has “go for a walk” on it. If I don’t put it there, I’m more likely to put it off until the next day—or the next.

As the weather continues to warm up I’ll spend more time outside. I still have two grandchildren who participate in organized sports, (soccer and softball) so once in a while I’ll pack up my lawn chair and head to whatever field they’re playing on and watch. Last summer my daughter’s bluegrass band played a few gigs outdoors, and that was fun, too. Another daughter and her husband host an annual Fourth of July picnic at their spacious home outside of town. And we have an in-ground pool in our back yard. If the water gets warm enough (80 degrees or more) I’ll get in it. The community band I play in has two Concerts in the Park each summer, so I’ll slather on the bug repellent and hope no stray insects fly into my mouth or nose when I’m trying to breathe.

Am I ready for spring? Absolutely. Have I been longing for it? Not especially. It’s the season that follows winter, and the one that precedes summer. I’ve accepted that, as well as the fact that I need to shut down this laptop and do something else.

Like go outside and get the mail.

About Patricia Kiyono

During her first career, Patricia Kiyono taught elementary music, computer classes, elementary classrooms, and junior high social studies. She now teaches music education at the university level. She lives in southwest Michigan with her husband, not far from her five children, nine grandchildren (so far), and great-granddaughters. Current interests, aside from writing, include sewing, crocheting, scrapbooking, and music. A love of travel and an interest in faraway people inspires her to create stories about different cultures. Check out her sweet historical contemporary romances at her Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Patricia-Kiyono/e/B0067PSM5C/
This entry was posted in Patricia Kiyono and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Is it Spring…Already?

  1. jeff7salter says:

    I think we are peas in a pod, Patty. I no longer desire much outdoor activity — though, in my case, it’s because of physical limitations which worsen with each additional year.
    I would LOVE a three season porch. our front porch is only viable for a single (though long) season and our back deck [which lacks a roof] really gives us hardly any season at all. Not to mention that the chickens have badly fouled it.
    As for the spouse keeping the DISTRACTING TV going full bore — yep, I face that also.
    There, I’ve just written my Hound Day Blog for this week!

    Like

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      Yes, you have! Just copy and paste…
      I would imagine your front porch season is a lot longer than ours! Hubby surprised me with it one summer – we had a large deck, but he decided this would get more use – and he was right!

      Like

  2. Joselyn says:

    Your porch sounds wonderful. I keep trying to figure out how to build one in our back yard without eating up half the yard or having to go into it to let the dog out in the winter.

    Like

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      Once the in-ground pool went in (our daughters were eight and eleven when that happened) I was so glad for the porch – I could sit there and watch them without having to sit in the hot sun! And the door is on the side, so when we dog-sit, he only goes through a small corner of it to go outside.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your porch sounds wonderful. I would love to have a spot like that to write or read.
    Putting go for a walk on a to do list is something I may have to start doing. My kids (daughter especially) love going for walks along the river but it seems I get caught up doing other things.

    Like

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      The porch is my favorite place for about half the year, Angie.
      I know all about getting caught up in doing other things! Putting it on my to-do list made it more of a priority – otherwise I wouldn’t think of it until midnight or so.

      Like

  4. Looks like at least three of us are not outdoorsy-types! Let’s make it unanimous about the love of your porch, though! I’m glad that Easter is an option this week, although this year,I have been more than anxious to see flowers in bloom,Finally, some are here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

