Look! I’m a Celebrity… Maybe

Our resident hound asked us to imagine that our notoriety has soared to the point where we not only give television interviews, but that we can choose our interviewer. Oh my. I don’t watch a lot of television shows. Hubby controls the remote during the day (by default – I’m not around all the time) and he doesn’t enjoy the morning talk shows, so I don’t have any idea how well those interviews go. I’ll have to comment on those I’ve actually seen.

PicMonkey Collage1I have vague memories of the Merv Griffin Show back when I was growing up. My mom used to watch him in the afternoons before she started dinner. I honestly don’t remember any of his interviews, but I thought he was quite handsome. As I recall, he was quite witty, too. Ellen DeGeneres seems to have a similar style – understated humor, and impeccable timing. But I’m not sure I’d want to subject myself to some of the shock pranks she pulls on her celebrity guests.

Tonight ShowSince The Tonight Show airs at 11:30 pm in the Eastern time zone I used to watch the Tonight Show only during the summer, when I didn’t have to get up early the next morning. I thought of Johnny Carson as a debonair host, and envied the people who sat next to the desk on his show. Later on the baton was passed to Jay Leno. During his reign I retired from full-time teaching and and am now able to stay up as late as I wish. I enjoyed Jay’s monologue and several of his segments (Headlines was my favorite) but I became annoyed with the way he kept interrupting his guests. He’d ask a question and before they could complete their answers he’d insert a joke or funny comment. I wanted to yell at him to shut his mouth and let the person complete a full sentence for once! Jimmy Fallon isn’t quite as annoying at interviews, and he’s an awesome musician and so creative with the games he asks his guests to play, so I wouldn’t mind an interview with him.

IntimidatorsOf course, there’s the fabulous Barbara Walters. I’m not sure I’d be comfortable sitting in a chair across from her. She’s a good interviewer, but since she’s spoken to heads of state and all sorts of celebrities I might feel intimidated sitting across from her, so I’ll leave her to the hard-hitters. Phil Donahue and Anderson Cooper would also intimidate me. The same would apply for several of the political pundits I see on the early morning shows. Many of them also have the annoying habit of interrupting their guests to insert their own opinions before the person has had the opportunity to answer the question they’ve been asked. I find that extremely rude. Why ask a question if you don’t want to hear the answer?

Hugh_DownsSo who would be my choice? Hugh Downs. I watched 20/20 every Friday night when he hosted, and sometimes he would interview the guests. I didn’t think about it at the time, but I imagine his intelligent and thoughtful questioning, and the way he listened to the answers set the bar in my mind for the way an interview should be conducted. He reminds me a lot of my dad – calm, reassuring, and fatherly. He seemed like someone I could trust, and who was actually interested in my answers.

Do you have a favorite interviewer?

(Source: All images were downloaded from the Wikipedia pages of the celebrities mentioned above.)

About Patricia Kiyono

During her first career, Patricia Kiyono taught elementary music, computer classes, elementary classrooms, and junior high social studies. She now teaches music education at the university level. She lives in southwest Michigan with her husband, not far from her five children, nine grandchildren (so far), and great-granddaughters. Current interests, aside from writing, include sewing, crocheting, scrapbooking, and music. A love of travel and an interest in faraway people inspires her to create stories about different cultures. Check out her sweet historical contemporary romances at her Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Patricia-Kiyono/e/B0067PSM5C/
This entry was posted in imagination, Patricia Kiyono and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Look! I’m a Celebrity… Maybe

  1. coryellsusan says:

    Now that Oprah is off the air, I’d go with Katie Couric. She’s no nonsense but has a sense of humor. I think she’s probably an avid reader, as well. Thanks for a thought-provoking post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      You’re right, Susan! I did enjoy her on the Today Show, but I haven’t watched her since she left that NBC. Thanks so much for visiting.

      Like

  2. jeff7salter says:

    Hugh Downs is a good choice. I might have been comfortable with him also.

    Like

  3. I agree with you when it comes to Leno. I have never watched Jimmy Fallon. I seem to vaguely recall Johnny Carson from nights when I had a bad dream and would go downstairs to tell my parents. Didn’t the show start with “Here’s Johnny!”?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. pamelasthibodeaux says:

    I’m not too excited about talk show hosts, especially since Oprah is no longer doing this…Guess if I had to pick it would be Ellen.

    Great post!
    Good luck and God’s blessings.
    PamT

    Liked by 1 person

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      Thanks, Pamela! And thanks for weighing in. My daughter and I watched a taping of her show a few years ago, and she seemed just as kind there as she is on camera.

      Like

  5. Oh, my! You folks are so brave. Even in my imagination, I can’t handle a TV interview. Yikes!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joselyn says:

    You had many of the same concerns that I have about a variety to interviewers. There a few show hosts that I liked, then I found out how they sliced and diced interviews to make it look completely different. I’m still trying to sort out who I would pick.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      I’m sure you’ll get it figured out, Joselyn! You’re right, I would hate it if I found out my interview was sliced and diced so that my answers were taken out of context.

      Liked by 1 person

    • jeff7salter says:

      in my former job as a library administrator, I had several occasions to be interviewed by a TV reporter. It hardly ever failed — NONE of my good quotes were used, but if I said something poorly or had a goofy look on my face, they’d used that portion for certain

      Liked by 2 people

      • Joselyn says:

        Seems like they can always find the least representative people of the community too.

        Liked by 2 people

      • I had the same thing happen to me.The worst one was when our neighbors were murdered.I knew it was a personal attack and no,I wasn’t afraid since the killers weren’t caught.Unfortunately, they cut out everything I said except when I said that the kids were all upset from what they had read on Facebook, (which was erroneous information).I was taken out of context to make it look like we were all upset .It was a grasp at sensationalism, and dishonest. I never spoke with them again and gave them heck on their website where they also used my so-called ‘interview’.

        Like

  7. VERY interesting! As I was thinking of what I wil say,Johnny Carson also crossed my mind…and the thought of being on the couch and Green Room with the biggest stars ever would have been a thrill and a half!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh, I’d love to hang out with Ellen or Jimmy Fallon. They both seem like they have so much fun! I have been interviewed before and it is interesting how they ask you the same question over and over again, just slightly reworded, to get the answer they feel they can best use. Thanks for sharing! I enjoyed reading your post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

