An Unfinished Review

This week I had planned to review a book that I started reading in May. Unfortunately with moving into the house I have not had time to read it to completion. I am about 74% through the story. It is a great story and I am looking forward to getting to finish it. I hope to be done with all the scrubbing by this weekend so I can finally get everything out of the boxes. This house didn’t look like anyone bothered to clean it in quite some time.

 

Anyway this book that has been calling to me to finish it is one that belongs to our Hound. Called to Arms Again by J.L. Salter.

 

I am truly enjoying this story. It certainly is more serious than his other books but a tribute to The Greatest Generation needs to be at least a tad on the serious side. I love the depth of characters. You really get details into who each of the veterans are. That makes you cheer for them even more. I hate giving away spoilers so I won’t say much about this book other than I usually read more lighthearted stories but I have to say this one is certainly a good read. I think my dad would enjoy it and plan to get him a copy for Father’s Day.

I will post a more thourogh review once I finish reading this title.

 

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Unfinished Review

  1. I am also tied-up with my son moving in and out and my grandson getting ready to move out.A short review from me this week, too,

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jeff7salter says:

    I’m honored that you’ve been reading my tribute to the greatest generation.
    And very pleased that you intend to post a review when you complete it.
    I’m not sure where in the story the 74% is, but apparently you’re reached the point where the neighborhood — with a little help from friends — decides to make a stand.
    I wouldn’t want to spill any spoilers either, but I will say that Kelly (the heroine) soon learns that “grit doesn’t fade away, it just becomes crusty.”
    Thanks again for selecting my novel.

    Like

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Called to Arms Again has been on my TBR pile since it was released. That’s a great idea to give a copy to your dad. Since my dad was a WWII and Korean War vet I’m sure he would have loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

