Tailored Gifts

If you get a gift from me chances are that you will get a book. It has gotten to the point where my children keep a list of books they would like to have in their personal library. All three of them have requested book cases so they have a place to store them all properly. Our new house doesn’t have the built-ins that the old place had. When my youngest nephew comes across a book he wants he’ll tell me as we get close to his birthday.

 

However I do not have any books that I give on a regular basis or have recommended for certain occasions. I like to give books based on personality so the gift is tailored to them.

 

On my daughter’s tenth birthday I gave her a velvet bound copy of The Secret Garden a box set of The Little House books. On her thirteenth birthday she recieved the entire Narnia collection as well as The Hobbit and a leather bound edition of Jane Austen ‘s works.

 

My middle child loves mysteries so his room has many of the A to Z Mysteries books.

 

I do like to give books at baby showers but I try to pick something that I think the parents would enjoy as well. I have yet to come across a book that everyone loves. I have a baby shower to attend this weekend and while my kids picked out an adorable outfit I still want to get a book. I adore the Little Golden book classics. I think I will be picking up a copy of The Pokey Little Puppy. It is a cute little story.

 

My kids’ grandpa passed away this week. I remember a song called Holes in the Floor of Heaven. It is also a book which I am waiting on our copy to arrive. Grief is such a difficult thing, especially for a child so I hope this book will comfort them the way the song comforted me when my grandma passed away.

 

Do you have specific books that you like to give for certain occasions or do you like to pick one based on the recipients personality?

 

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tailored Gifts

  1. jeff7salter says:

    even before I was a published author, I always preferred giving books as gifts.
    Before our first grandchild was born, I wrote an open letter to him or her in which I said, among other things, that they would not likely ever receive a gift from me that used a battery… but, instead, would get many books.
    As a kid, I was more pleased with a book than just about anything (except that basketball I got in 5th grade).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Love your gift choices. What were some you’ve received that were special to you?

    Like

  3. I am adding classic children’s books that are enjoyable for the adults in my Friday post, too, Angie.
    We are going through my grandson’s book to see what he wants to take with him.His love of books is making the packing hard, and so many that he has asked me to keep for him.I love it when kids love books!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

