Stop the Baby Talk

This week we are discussing speech and behaviour that we find bothersome. If you ask my children they’ll tell you that “uhuh” and “unuh” do not fly in our house. When I ask my kids a question I at least expect them to respond with an understandable word not just a muttered mumble. It seems I have been fighting this battle with them for years.

 

Like many parents I have an aversion for the word “whatever” when used as a response. Especially when it is followed up with “I don’t care.” This is even more frustrating to hear when I ask for their opinion on dinner then they moan when I pick something they don’t want. My answer to them is always, “You shouldn’t have said you didn’t care.”

 

When It comes to social media I despise all of the “share if you believe” and all the other posts that are to “test” my faith or friendship or compassion. How is sharing a post going to help that person survive cancer? Or the “my mon my and daddy will buy me a puppy if I get 100,000 likes on this post.” Nope, not going to share that. To me they are the same as chain letters.

 

Now a phrase that really bothers me is “Well, they claim to be Christians but…” You should just stop what you’re saying because I don’t want to hear it. In my experience that phrase is always followed by something incredibly judgemental. We shouldn’t be judging others. That is all I am going to say on that topic.

 

“Bae” is annoying. It sounds too much like baby talk. I am glad that my teens don’t use this phrase. I have heard middle school teachers complain about their students baby talking in class. When I was iniddle school my friends and I would use the biggest words we could think of (masticate was used a lot) and now it seems the world is trying to dumb things down.

 

My middle child picked up a habit of reaching his arms out and wiggling his fingers when he wants something. This wouldn’t bother me so much if he was three but he is thirteen. I was told he picked it up from a Disney Channel show. It leaves me shaking my head though.

 

Tell me what are some of things that bother you?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Stop the Baby Talk

  1. OMG, you nailed it on the head! My 2 daughters never baby talked to their children and would never put up with it happening. Can’t say the same for daughter in law. It shows, TN grandchildren all speak clearly and easy to understand, including the 32 month old. My MO grandson who will be 3 soon, grunts and whines. I blame the parents. Cramming a binky in the mouth for every whine.

    I grew up with strict parents, my father was a military officer, we answered with Yes or No Ma’am or Sir. We answered the telephone, “Heare’s residence, Kathy speaking” or we didn’t answer the phone. If I go to my parents home, I still answer their phone that way.

    I ignore those “share if” messages on Facebook. That doesn’t make you believe or follow Jesus. The ones that claim if xyz people do this, $$ will be donated, NO IT WON’T. If more people ignored this, it would stop. I also am one to do a google search when I see postings, and sadly, most are bogus. I’ve been told that some of those sites you go into and take “quizzes” can come with spam, viruses, tracking, etc. I try to avoid them.

    You need to put a stop to baby talk, wiggling hands/fingers, thinking that will get them what they want. My 32 month old granddaughter doesn’t do that, but she does say, “She wants” and we think that comes from Shannon telling the 9, 12 and 14 year olds, “See what she wants.” So now Lyvi refers to herself as “she.” She will say, “Mama, She wants you.” to be picked up. Lyvi is a Mama’s girl. I think more so than the other 3 girls because Shannon stayed home with her, breast-fed her and only works 1 day a week on Tuesday.

    You brought out lots of great points today.And many things that also irk me. I think that one thing that will never or should never go out of style is MANNERS. Maybe take your cell phone and record when one of the kids doesn’t something inappropriate, like the baby talk, wiggling hands, and show them how they look. Then tell them, “it stops NOW.” Parenting is tough.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Also, when you ‘like’ a page, it generally subscribes you to that page and they can access your info.Don’t like it one bit.

      Liked by 2 people

    • When we catch him wiggling his fingers he does not get what he was asking for.

      I had someone read Love Overcomes and tell me that a four year old would not speak like that. I told them the speech and mannerisms were modeled after my four year old. I started reading to him the day he was born (I read hom a chapter from The Borrowers every night) and I wouldn’t let anyone baby talk with him.

      I didn’t know that about the pages with the quizzes. I wonder if that is what killed my computer.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jeff7salter says:

    several of those bother me also.
    Not sure I’ve ever heard “BAE”.
    What does it mean? In what context is it uttered?

    Like

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I’d forgotten all about “Whatever” – maybe that’s because I never allowed my kids to respond with that. I’ve heard bae, but none of my kids or grandkids have used it in front of me. I guess they know I wouldn’t like it! I have to agree with Kathy – kids learn when you expect certain behaviors and have consequences for not meeting them.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. That finger wiggling would be annoying.Looks like we all hate those “Honk if you love Jesus” posts.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I will have to say that today, every time I saw a new “Click if you love Jesus” or “Type Amen” or whatever (yes I said Whatever) it is, I have laughed thinking about your post Angela. I don’t think I have heard the kids say Bae, but with Karsyn, she educates me. I can whip and nae nae with them! I have even leaned how to Dab! Don’t know why, but I can. Amazing what we do for a grandchild.

    BTW, one of my granddaughters has been sounding out words since before she was 3, she knew her entire alphabet and the phonic sounds at 18 months and started putting words together. People at church watched her like she was a freak in the circus because she could read at 3 years old.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

