Park and Museum

This week we’re talking about National Parks. I have never been to any big name parks. I have spent plenty of time at a Sate Park. Wild Cat Den is a state park not far from where I live. It is an incredibly beautiful place with lots of woods and cliffs. I always enjoyed climbing The Devil’s Punchbowl and Fat Man’s Squeeze. Down the road is the old mill and school house. I remember a class trip where we got to spend time in the school house and do a lesson. I thought it list have been great to actually go to school there. The creek is where I spent many summer afternoons splashing around. I frequented the campgrounds on colder nights because it was not as crowded.

 

When I looked up a directory of National Parks I discovered that I have been to one a few times. I never realized it was considered a National Park. The Herbert Hoover National Historic Site, we always called it The Hoover Museum. President Hoover was born and spent his early childhood not far from where I grew up and there in West Branch is the museum. I went several times as a child. I liked when they had some Laura Ingalls Wilder/ Little House on the Prairie items on display.

 

A few years back my kids, sister, and I were on our way home from the Childrens Hospital and decided to make a pit stop at The Hoover Museum. Quinlan was excited because they had several classic cars on display that day. The walk through the actual museum only took about thirty minutes and by the time we were back outside the kids were tired from the long day at the hospital so we didn’t make it over to the cabin where President Hoover was born. Since it is only a thirty-eight minute drive from us I am sure we will be going again.

 

Are there any National Parks near you that you didn’t know about? I am going to go through this directory and start planning some trips for my little family.

 

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Park and Museum

  1. jeff7salter says:

    As I’ll explain more tomorrow, on Hound Day, some of the most memorable parks I’ve encountered were just local or state parks. Nothing splashy and maybe nobody out of the area had ever paid much attention to it. It’s all a matter of perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Wild Cat Den sounds like fun. We’ve got several state parks in West Michigan, and they’re awesome for short day trips or weekends.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You can’t beat Virginia for beautiful and historical parks.Colorado had an incredible number of parks and all of them are beautiful…just be careful of the weather which can change quickly and always take extra clothing/coats and jackets, whenever you climb in altitude. If you haven’t experienced the way the temperatures fall drastically as you go up, you will be pleasantly, (or unpleasantly surprised, if you don;t have outerwear with you.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

