Not at all Strange

This week we’re talking about pets and their names. Animals have always been a huge part of my life. As far back as I can remember we always had some sort of animal sharing our home. As far as I am concerned they all had relatively normal names but I will allow you to be the judge of that.

 

The first pet I barely remember she was a cocker spaniel named Baby. The only thing I recall about her was that she would chase me out of the room if she was trying to eat. For some reason she wouldn’t let me in the same room if she was at her food dish. She’d bark and run at me and I would jump on the table just to get away from her. I don’t know who named her or what happened to her.

 

On the farm my grandparents had a dog named Lobo. He had belonged to my uncle but when he passed away (at the age of 17) Lobo became grandma’s. This dog was loyal, cuddly, protective, and a great friend. He would follow us around the farm, or rather he would lead us. Always on the lookout for anything that might harm us. I recall several instances where he killed snakes because they were too close to where we were playing. Lobo lived to a ripe old age and was buried under his favorite tree.

 

Shortly after Lobo died my dad took us to get a Collie. We picked a beautiful girl. My little brother and I argued over names so finally my dad named her Duchess. It seems most of the time we called her Dutch. She was a great dog who loved going to the farm. When we were in town I enjoyed walking her except when she saw something she wanted. My brothers all thought it was hilarious that the dog could flip me over and drag me behind her while she chased a rabbit or squirrel. At least I never let go of the leash. She also lived a long life. My two older children vaguely remember her. She passed away from cancer.

 

We had so many cats when I was little that I don’t recall all of their names. There was Sunshine, the only good cat according to my dad who never cared for cats. Monty, Rascal, Pixie, Bear, Midnight, Shadow, Leena, Meena, Cheyenne, and my Jig.

 

Jig was a one eyed black cat. I found him walking home from school. A couple of boys had been throwing him around like he was a football. I scooped him up and carried him home. When I walked in the door I said, “Look what I have.” To which my mother replied with something along the lines of “ Take him to your room and do your homework.” We were always bringing strays home and begging to keep them. It was usually met a no which after a lot of begging would turn into “Ask your dad.” Daddy always said yes, my sister swears it was all because of the puppy dog eyes and lip quiver. Never before had mom responded with take him to your room. A few hours passed and my mom came up to check on me. It was then that she realized the black cat I had was not Shadow (the one we already had). After seeing that one of his eyes had been poked out she said we could keep him and we got him into a vet. He was a great cat and loved to curl up on me or next to me while I read or wrote.

 

My sister had a hedgehog named Willie and I had a lamb named Homer (My grandma named the lamb so I know he was named after Homer author of the Iliad and not after the Simpsons).

 

Fast forward to more recent years and you have my sister’s dogs. Remington, Winchester, and Nikka. When Win and Nik had puppies she and I named them with a bit of an Avengers theme. Hawkeye Number Nine (the 9Th one born), Short Tail Thor ( his mom stepped on his tail slicing half of it off the day he was born), Agent Phil Amina, Koda, Loki, Cam (Captain America) and Dragonmire Ironman.

 

My current animal is Magneto. My brother named him for the M on his forehead. He thinks he’s a parrot because the cat likes to perch in shoulders.

 

All these names seem normal to me. They just fit the animals perfectly. I do have a name that I like for a future pet but don’t know if I’ll ever use it and that is Abacus. How do you name your animals?

 

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not at all Strange

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Wow — quite a variety of names. My childhood neighbor had a collie named Duchess.
    At least one of the other names you cited also connects with me, but you’ll have to wait until tomorrow to learn which one.
    Love the memories of the dog that protected you guys from snakes.

    Like

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    You’ve had a LOT of animals. And the only ones I’ve heard connected to animals are Rascal, Remington, Winchester, and Loki – so I guess the rest sound unusual to me. Great story about Jig. I would expect him to be pieced together like a jigsaw puzzle – so maybe he had a lot of different colors?

    Like

  3. Love the names! Apparently, many dogs are named “Duchess”. You’ll read about on I was ‘related’ to on Friday.
    You have a good heart!

    Like

Leave a Reply

