Happy Parent Vacation!

My kids went back to school this morning. Excuse me while I happy dance for a moment.

This is the first time I’ve been in a quiet house for more than ten minutes in at least four weeks. I am actually able to have a coherent thought.

We had a lot of fun this summer. We camped. We traveled. The kids learned out to swim like fish. The twins are leaping off the side of the pool and swimming with their face in the water across the width of the pool. The youngest will also jump from the side and put her face in the water. It’s a huge improvement from last summer’s swimming lessons. And the kids talk and make noise ALL. THE. TIME.

I’ve learned that I NEED quiet time, not just adult time, but silence, especially immediately after an outing. My brain needs to unwind a bit before I can answer the recurrent “Mom?”s. Then the word doesn’t sound like metal scraping on concrete.

Don’t get me wrong, they were excited to go to school and I didn’t have to push them out of the car at the playground and I didn’t squeal the tires as I left, but I am looking forward to letting my mind and body recharge. Maybe I’ll even start writing again.

Happy Parent Vacation!
About Joselyn

SAHM writing romance with at a case of the giggles. Former librarian. Avid reader. Runner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Parent Vacation!

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Welcome back. I’ve been missing you here at 4F1H.
    I knew you were busy with the kids and family.
    Hope you scare up some of that solitude and quiet that your system needs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you are back, but gee, you’ll miss the “Mom!”s. My grandson would “Grandmother” me all day and I would “Grandmother!” him back.Now…sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I think any parent understands how you feel. When I worked full time, I listened to other kids all day long and then often found myself short on patience for my own kids at night. Thank goodness I had a half hour drive – alone – each way. Sometimes I’d stop somewhere and run an errand just to give myself more time to prepare for the onslaught of “Mom, can I…” when I got home. But Tonette’s right – sometimes I miss it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope you are enjoying your quieter days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

