The Bigfoot File

As you probably know, I’ve been working on a story involving Bigfoot at an excruciatingly slow pace. Evidence needs to be painstakingly gathered, blurry and out of focus videos need to be watched. You know how it goes.

Well, here’s what happens when you name your computer file after an elusive, potentially-mythical creature:

It disappears.

It’s hard to find.

You know it exists, but you can’t prove it.

Welcome to my first adventure back into writing after summer vacation.

My fellow writer, Tess Grant, and I decided to have a mini writing retreat to celebrate our kids being back in school. We met at the library. I pulled out the notes  I had handwritten and prepared to type them into the computer. I happily added 600 words to my manuscript. Then I realized that there were 2 copies of my manuscript in the file, so I deleted one.

(You should feel a dark, scary tremor in the pit of your stomach right now.)

Somehow, by the mysteries of computer files, my manuscript was completely gone.

No problem, I thought, my program automatically backs up. It’s somewhere. I checked the various backup locations and cloud drives. The files either wouldn’t open or where 6 months old. Six months old, I could probably deal with, but there had to be something newer, right? Right?!

So I went home praying that there was a gremlin in the library that was preventing me from finding my newest file. I checked externals drives and found nothing newer. Then I found this wonderful thing in Windows 10 called File History. As long as you have it turned on, it keeps copies of your files at whatever interval you set. Luckily I had mine set for daily.

Whew. 

The manuscript was back… with its gremlins. I couldn’t get the second copy of Bigfoot to go away. I’d move some of it and it would appear somewhere else. I’d copy and paste and it’d appear somewhere else. It was maddening.

I finally gave up and copied out the manuscript into a new, hopefully gremlin-free file… which I named Sasquatch.

With the promise of blueberry bagels, it has remained well-behaved.

About Joselyn

SAHM writing romance with at a case of the giggles. Former librarian. Avid reader. Runner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Bigfoot File

  1. jeff7salter says:

    for a blueberry bagel, I’d behave too.
    Glad you found the Sasquatch file. Very mysterious that you now have a shadow file you can’t delete. Can you create a new folder called “Exile” and lure that redundant file to that new location?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Bigfoot! My favorite unproven bipedal mammal! I don’t believe in bigfoot, but I do believe in the possibility of bigfoot.

    Liked by 2 people

    • jeff7salter says:

      I definitely believe there could have been a sasquatch / yeti / bigfoot in the deep wildernesses of the world at some point in time. Whether they have continued to survive into modern day is another matter. That said, I read a lot on the subject and am ever hopeful one will be found someday. Hope they don’t have to kill it to “study” it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Joselyn says:

      I believe that people are seeing something, but they are probably misindentifying what they are seeing. But then who knows what animals live in remote areas that we haven’t discovered yet.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I am really looking forward to reading this story!

    Like

  4. I’m glad you found your file.

    Like

  5. Oh, I missed your post! And what a good one it is!
    I would have tried a “systems restore”. I had been backing all of what I considered my ‘real’ works on flash drives and trying to delete old starts, copies is a roll of the dice if the ones from the flash drive got downloaded, and the update NOT up loaded back to them.I have had some close calls. However, I lost a lot of ideas, starts and recipes I made for my other blog,including descriptions of the food of which I now have photos, but am trying to wrack my brain to remember what was what, (assorted appetizers…what a pain!)
    I bought an external hard drive and have it turned on always. I sleep better now!
    As for Bigfoot, yes.I think they are out there,not something we should fear. There are lake animals like the Loch Ness ‘monster’ all over the world, which are, again, nothing to fear. Science just hates to admit they don’t have all the answers, esp.if it throws a monkey wrench into their evolutionary timelines…Nessie, and the others, looks like Mauisaurus, (Mauisauri?): sea dinosaurs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

