Changes in Time

This morning my youngest child stood patiently while I sprayed his hair purple and gold. A soon as his hair was decked out in Muskie colors he slipped his tiny hand into mine. The walk to school was filled with red, yellow, and orange tinged green leaves. Autumn is slowly changing our world and within a few weeks the green leaves will be gone and the growing will be blanketed in am array of colors.

 

With Fall comes Homecoming which is why my six year old was sporting purple and gold hair this morning. When we reached his school he excitedly dragged me inside with him.

“Come watch the marching band!” I started to shake my head in protest recalling how I had always done my best to avoid pep rallies in my younger years. The pure joy on that little boy’s face caused me to agree and allow him to lead me to the bleachers in the gym.

 

Every time someone said they liked his Muskie hair he proudly said, “My momma did it.” As the marching band entered my child bounced excitedly beside me. When they played the fight song Wyatt proclaimed that he will be in the marching band someday.

 

Watching the high school kids play I realized how much I was enjoying myself. I even decided that we’d go to the game if we make it back into town on time. Part of me suddenly wished I had attended more school events when I was younger. I am near certain that my new appreciation for school spirit is due to the excitement of my boy.

 

Is there something that you avoided when you were younger that you now look forward to?

 

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Changes in Time

  1. jeff7salter says:

    that’s a sweet moment, on several levels:
    his pride in you, his joy about the school and its celebration, and your re-found appreciation for the exhibition of school spirit.
    Now: something that I avoided when I was younger that I now look forward to?
    Let me think about that for a few minutes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeff7salter says:

      Okay I’ve thought of something I now look forward to, that I (somewhat) avoided when younger:
      being kind to other people.
      Not that I was a total jerk all the time… but if being kind could be embarrassing or make me uncomfortable, I’d often forego that opportunity.
      No more.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great mom you are!
    Oh, my youth was a difficult time.I didn’t think the simple things were important, but they are.I didn’t attend much and I the felt the personal loss with my kids and more so now with my grandkids, who are involved in so many things.
    Your Autumn arrived earlier than here, but I am sure it lasts longer. Ours is short, if it arrives at all.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I think the older we get the more we appreciate the simple things.

      Last week it felt like summer here and now it is cool. Sweaters are out and hot chocolate is often in our cups. It reminds me of a few years back when we had snow in October. That winter was filled with snow storms and ice storms.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Your son is wise beyond his years. He must know you need to get out more. I think the one thing I look forward to now that I hated when I was young was going to sleep. Part of it is because I tend to have long to-do lists that need to be completed, and another part is because I have trouble getting to sleep even after my head hits the pillow. Getting to sleep is as difficult as getting to bed.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Lisa Orchard says:

    I wish I had been allowed to be in band. We moved when I was going into 6th grade and my old school started band in 6th grade. My new school had started in 5th, so I was a year behind…my mom didn’t want to invest in private lessons, so I missed out. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

