Magic Cups

This week we were asked to share about a favorite cup or set of dishes. I remember many
holiday dinners at the grandparents’ houses but do not recall any of the dishes. My
parents had a beautiful set of fine China that we used only at Thanksgiving and Christmas.
My sister used to make the crystal goblets sing at the end of dinner. I do recall with great
fondness a set of cups my grandma had at the farm.

These were every day cups that we kids used. We often argued over who had which color.
The aluminum cups were in a variety of shades. I loved the purple cup but would happily
settle for the red. I’d often race to the kitchen to claim my cup before someone else did.
There was something magical about those cups. I drank from them while watching the
sunset in “Paris” (Grandma and I would sit on the deck with a plate of sandwiches and our
drinks while the sunset and would pretend we were at a café in Paris).

Everything tasted better in those cups! The water was more refreshing and the Tang was
delicious. I refused to drink Tang at home. I do not recall exactly what happened to the
cups after my grandparents passed away. I believe they went to my aunt Janice.

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Magic Cups

  1. jeff7salter says:

    I remember those aluminium cups! My mom had a set. As I recall, we used them mainly for picnics, but it’s also possible we used them for those meals when we ate sandwiches at home.
    I don’t recall that I had a particular color — or which color it was — but (knowing me and knowing kids) I’m sure one of those colors was mine.
    Yes, the edges were sharp, but not really enough to cut you. However, you couldn’t lurch your mouth toward those cups or you WOULD cause an injury.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I remember those cups! And things DID taste better in them.I think one of the reasons was, they tasted a bit sweet themselves! They also became VERY cold and made the drinks cold…plastic can never do that. The colors were so bright, I think every kid loved them.
    Of course, you have those who believe that anything aluminum that comes into contact with your food will give you Alzheimer’s. I have my doubts.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. jeff7salter says:

    and those cups were STURDY. Not the cheap, thin aluminum like they use in new products today.
    You could drop them and maybe not even see a ding.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes,FUN, Angie.Now, roll out the Looney Tunes!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I remember those metal cups, too. We didn’t have them at our house, but I think one of my friends did. Everything tasted different from them, maybe because the kept the cold stuff cold and the hot stuff hot. What a great memory of sitting on the porch looking over Paris! You were developing your writer’s imagination even then.

    Liked by 2 people

    • My grandma is the one who got me started with writing. She wrote poems and maybe a short story or two. I remember excitedly showing her my first poem when I was in second grade. A story I wrote in third. She always encouraged me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

