NaNo approaches

Autumn is here and that has me thinking of NaNoWriMo which starts in just a few weeks. I love NaNo. The Second Life of Magnolia Mae was written during camp NaNo. I like being able to write and post my word counts. I enjoy cheering on other writers as they work to complete their novels.

 

I wasn’t sure if I would participate this November because I still have not replaced my computer. Yesterday while at the store I saw some hardcover bound journals marked down to $2. I picked up 4 of them and decided I would write my story for NaNo in them. I have also decided that I need to finish Man in the Mist so I can start a fresh story on November 1.

 

I have always wanted to write a Christmas story but I have a hard time writing one during the spring and summer. I decided that now that it’s colder, the stores are setting out Christmas items, and snow will be falling before the end of November that it is time for me to write a Christmas story. So when the first of the month comes I will be sitting down at the table with a cup of hot tea and my hardcover journals so I can participate in National Novel Writing Month.

 

Are you (have you) participated in NaNoWriMo? Do you find the idea of writing a novel from start to finish in one month intimidating? I know I did the first time I joined in.

 

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NaNo approaches

  1. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I’ve never done the November NaNo, because I’m busy with teaching and concerts. My local writing group does a Winter NaNo between our February and March meetings that I usually participate in, and I’ll probably do that. But this year I have a book due at the end of the year, so I’m toying with the idea of participating this time – maybe not officially, but giving myself the challenge of writing a draft in November so that I can edit in December and actually meet my deadline! Good luck with your projects.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jeff7salter says:

    I’ve never done the NaNoWriMo, mostly because November almost always has involved edits or revisions that couldn’t be shoved aside. Also, I’ve already proven to myself that I can crank out a full-length novel in 6 wks or so, so I don’t feel any urge to tie myself to the 50k word Nov. crunch.
    That said, I heartily encourage all who are interested to press on with NaNo. Several friends and colleagues have reported wonderful novels that they either finished or started during NaNo. Can’t argue with that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. No, I have not participated but I did do a small competition that made we get a great start, so I am not sure I would count it out as a ‘never’. However, with the way life has been, (esp. the last few days), I know this is not the year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

