Guest: Author Elaine Cantrell

This week it is my pleasure to welcome an online friend, author Elaine Cantrell.
Elaine is a prolific writer of what I consider ‘old-school romance’, PG rated and sweet. Let’s learn more about her and her works.

Author Elaine Cantrell

Author Elaine Cantrell

Welcome, Elaine!
Thanks so much for letting me come to the blog. I always appreciate an invitation to talk about my work.

Tell us, Elaine, when did you first start writing? Did you start out writing romance?
I started writing in 2001 when my son asked me to proofread a book he’d written. Since I’d always wanted to be a writer, I thought I’d give it a try too. I did start out writing romance. It seems to me that romance has everything a person could want in a book: lots of emotion, some suspense, a feeling of justice, and the idea that there really are happy endings. I think they encourage us to believe that we matter and that our lives can be just as good as that of the characters in a book.

Have you ever written in any other form or genre?
I have some books that are properly labeled women’s fiction, but they still have romance in them. One of my latest The Captain and the Cheerleader is women’s fiction.cc-front-cover

How did you first get published?
I won a contest. I had a manuscript completed when I heard of a small press that sponsored a writing contest each year. At the last minute I entered the contest and then promptly forgot about it. Imagine my surprise several months later when I saw my name on the short list. Not long after that I was eating some ice cream when the phone rang. It was the publisher telling me I had won the contest, and that my book would be published by Oak Tree. That book was A New Leaf, and it’s still available at most retail outlets. I’ve learned a lot about writing since then, but I still think the story is one of my best.

You are published by “Clean Reads” and your books certainly are, indeed, ‘clean reads’, but you aren’t afraid to touch on deep subjects like racism and life after death. Several of your books involve veterans who are wounded in body and/or soul. What has inspired you to write these characters?
I think I do it because I see people who need encouragement. Yes, a wounded warrior can find peace and happiness. Yes, racism can be overcome, and of course faith can bring a comfort all of its own.fortuna1600x2400

Are there any particular places or people who inspire your other stories?
No one particular person. Most of my characters are a combination of many different people. And I certainly don’t write perfect people. Sometimes I read a story, and the heroine is so good it makes me crazy. I’d rather write people with wrinkles who aren’t perfect. Sometimes I get into trouble for it, LOL. Wait until you meet my next heroine. She’s a firecracker with a temper that won’t quit.

Has there been a time when a whole story simply popped into your mind or do you write methodically?
I always know where I want to begin, and I know the ending, but everything in between is a mystery. One scene flows into another, and eventually we get to the end. Yeah, I’m a big pantser.

Do you look for input while you are writing, or do you wait until you are finished to show it to others?
My husband wishes I’d wait, LOL. He’s the one who usually has to be my sounding board

The last book of yours that I read involved a ghost. Have you had any other-worldly experiences you’d care to share? (Halloween is coming!)
At one time my house had ghosts. One night they were running up and down the stairs, which have no carpet, and they were making such a racket I finally got mad and yelled at them to be quiet. “I have to go to work tomorrow even if you don’t,” I said. There was one more horrible screech, and then it was quiet for the rest of the night.

Elaine Cantrell's "Rest Thy Head"

Elaine Cantrell’s “Rest Thy Head”

 

Do you have any other creative pursuits?
Does quilting count? [Definitely! Huh, Patty?]I haven’t done it in a while, but I do love it. I also enjoy making Christmas wreaths and ornaments. I’d like to be a cake decorator, but I’m not coordinated enough to do it.blue-52

Is there anything else you’d care to tell our readers?
I love feedback so if you should read one of my books, please leave a review or shoot me an email. I’d love to hear from you.

How Can our readers learn more about you and your works?
Here you go.
http://www.elainecantrell.com
http://http://www.elainepcantrell.blogspot.com
http://http://www.facebook.com/elainepcantrell
http://http://http://www.twitter.com/elainecantrell

Tonette, thanks again for letting me come. The blog is fantastic.

Thank YOU, Elaine!

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in author interview, author's life, authors, book covers, Books, careers, characters, connections, experiences, Friendship, Guest, Guest author, hobbies, interview, Tonette Joyce, traditional publishing, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Guest: Author Elaine Cantrell

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Waving frantically to Elaine!. Welcome to 4F1H.
    Gosh, I’m impressed by your contest winning story.
    Fascinated by your real-life ghost haunting tale and would love to know more.
    I think I write somewhat like you do — know beginning and (for me) “maybe” the end. For the rest, I follow the characters. Of course, sometimes that gets me into trouble with plot and pacing, so I have to hunker down and do some outlining.
    Elaine, I’ve forgotten what state you live in…

    Liked by 1 person

    • If I recall, she is in SC,Jeff. We should all sit around telling ghost stories…’tis the season!
      Oh, those characters! They have minds of their own.

      Liked by 2 people

      • jeff7salter says:

        what astounds me about Elaine’s teaser (about those ghosts she encountered) is that they did apparently settle down. But what did they do the following night? Did they return? Did Elaine relocate?
        C’mon, Elaine… give us some details.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. What a great interview.

    Not sure I would have had the nerve to yell at ghosts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jeff, this may sound a little crazy, but it’s true. The ghosts came around 2010. We’d never had them before so I’m not sure why they chose that time to move in. I was aware of them even before I knew what they were, and yes they were scary. One night I woke to the sound of pages being turned in the magazine I left on the dresser. Another time the silly thing was banging the closet door and making an awful racket. They never made such a noise on the steps again, but sometimes you’d hear them walking up or down. They mainly enjoyed waking me up, but I decided that unless I was horribly provoked I would ignore them. No one can even say the word ghost in the house. In the spring of 2014 their noise grew fainter, and finally they just left. I’ve had no experiences since then. And I hope it stays that way. Interestingly enough, my sister told me that my mother was like me. She could hear ghosts and feel their presence, but my sister can both hear and see them. Poor girl. I never knew this about my mother until my sister told me a few years ago.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Welcome back to Four Foxes, Elaine! Love your stories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

