Creativity Dawns at Dusk

When the nights get longer and the sun makes a much briefer appearance during the day that is when I find myself at my most creative. I am not sure why this is true but it is.

 

The sun sets about three hours after the final school bell rings. My kids come home and tell me all about their days while I get dinner ready. Homework gets done and we manage to get at least two hours of family time a night. When the clock strikes 8 they are off to bed since school is back in session and I get to dig out the computer. I often find myself writing until 2 or 3 in the morning, especially if the story is just flowing perfectly. I have gone more than once with only about thirty minutes of sleep because I was afraid if I stopped writing the flow would be interrupted and not picked back up again easily.

 

With the coming of Autumn NanoWriMo has started. I know it’s not for everyone but I enjoy seeing my friends ad acquaintances post their word counts at the end of the day. I admit to hardly ever posting my count, mostly because by two in the morning I have forgotten.

 

With five hours of writing time I tend to get a lot written during these darker months. I think there is something peaceful about the dark quiet of the night which makes it easier to write.

 

Do you find creativity flows more easily for you during the day or at night?

 

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creativity Dawns at Dusk

  1. jeff7salter says:

    wow — I know I could not survive on such little sleep. You must have a resilient constitution.
    Hmm… I’m still pondering how to summarize my tendencies / patterns regarding creativity and writing. Hopefully, I’ll figure it out by Hound Day tomorrow.
    I’ve never registered for Nanowrimo, but I know lots of authors who love that november event.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not doing NanoWriMo, but I can see the advantages of putting the thumbscrews to yourself. I have learned to get along on very little sleep as well, Angie, and I’ll give a hint about my Friday post…we have a lot in common!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joselyn says:

    Your after school sounds much like ours. I am considering Velcro sheets to keep the kids in bed after 8. 🙂 Evening seems to be a much better writing time for me as well. I don’t know how you can function on 30 minutes of sleep though. I’m dragging if I get less than 7. You would think that would make it easier to fall asleep.

    Like

  4. However, with regards to EPDM Liquid rubber, this will
    nnot be an issue. Cafe Leopard Loafer notably incorporates an artisanal bit buckle that
    has resin detail emblazoned in the center. Special
    construction and shaft sealing devices are available for blower service requiring
    zero or minimal gas leakage into and out off casing.

    Like

Leave a comment