When the Deep Purple Falls Over Sleepy Garden Walls

The question today is whether the longer nights affect our writing schedule…in my case the answer is, probably.

I do most of my writing in the evenings. I do most of my housework in the daytime, as well as my errands. Banks, doctors, and the library all open in the daytime, as well as the granddaughters’ school, and I prefer to go to the grocery store in the daytime so I can get good assistance and stocked shelves, (without dealing with the stockers blocking the aisles. Have you tried to really shop late? Not good for a real foodie).

My husband works second-shift. He leave around 2:40 PM and gets home around 11:20.If he works overtime, it’s usually 11AM-11PM. (We both really hate the rare 3PM-3AM shifts. It was especially hard when I was working the bakery and had to be up about the time he was getting home. I did a lot of writing years ago when he was on the 11PM-7AM shift, but it was terrible for us as a couple. And trying to keep THREE pre-school grandkids quiet while he slept in the daytime? It was a nightmare!)

So, his schedule now leaves my evenings free, when I don’t have the granddaughters here. I have them often in the day during the Summer and during the three two-week breaks in the school-year.

The girls and writing don’t mix, since they are high-maintenance. I have them a couple of nights most weeks and homework figures in, as it did tonight.(I am only proof-reading and editing this tonight, in preparation to post.)

Although the girls are no longer little, they are noisy, they want the computers…and they try to read over my shoulders!

I have spent a lot of time alone and although I am OK with it, I’d still rather not be running a loud vacuum cleaner or be cleaning in a back bedroom where I can’t be aware of anyone that may come around my place the dark. Besides, it’s hard to dust in low lamplight. Sitting in the middle of the house on the computer is perfect work for dark evenings and nights.

When I am alone, sit down and hit the keys, it works well.

As I think about it, I am sure the longer nights get me started earlier in the evening, which gives me more time to read over what I have already put down. That gives me a running start on what I have written to keep the tenor of the particular project of the evening. I may have multiple personality disorder since I have several WIPs at one time, and it just wouldn’t do to have my mind in child’s book mode when I am trying to work on my novel, or when I’m trying to rework a piece from a narrative to readable form and I have a poem going through my head.

So do I believe the longer nights affect my writing schedule? Yes,I guess it does, for the better.

How do longer nights affect you?

[ If you don’t recognize the title as a song, here are a couple of versions: Sarah Vaughn,(my mother’s generation);

April Stevens and Nino Tempo,(when  I was a kid),

and another brother and sister, Donny and Marie, (when my nieces were kids).

Are you familiar with any of these?

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in author's life, authors, Family, inspiration, Life, Tonette Joyce, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to When the Deep Purple Falls Over Sleepy Garden Walls

  1. jeff7salter says:

    definitely familiar with the Stevens / Tempo version of deep purple.
    In fact, it’s one of my favorites from that era. Love the harmony.
    Yeah, like you, I have MULTIPLE WIPs all going at once. Well, to be clearer: I have literally scores of concepts, dozens of “starts”, and a goodly number of stories for which I have 25k words or more.
    Just need time and focus to deal with the hottest one at the moment.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I grew up on Donny and Marie, but it’s Sarah Vaughn’s version that I remember (and like the most). Since we’re heading into longer nights, we’ll be looking forward to your writing!

    Like

    • Thanks. Yes, as I told Jeff, I need to push myself and finish another project.It’s been too long since I published anything.
      I don;t remember Sarah Vaughn’s version, but I like it very much!
      Donny and Marie were huge hits with my nieces, so I had them around all the time.They were little, but they loved D&M!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Joselyn says:

    I’m glad the winter months help you get more writing done. I agree about going to the stores during the day. I refuse to go to Walmart any time other than 8 am. I can get in and out in less than half an hour. It’s super busy the rest of the day and I probably have to take the kids which means a quick trip takes an hour and a half.

    Like

Leave a Reply

