By Pirate Ship

I missed last week’s post due to family medical issues so during this free week I will post what I should have posted then. It was all about travel.

 

I have only ever traveled by car. I recall several long trips to see my brother, who is in the military. My first long car ride was to watch him graduate boot camp at Fort Jackson. I was twelve and had claimed the entire back seat of the van since it was only my parents, my youngest brother, and me on this trip. I loved going through The Smoky Mountains. I had never seen a mountain before let alone spend the night in a cute hotel halfway up it.

 

Over the years several more car trips took place. Mostly to Fort Hood, Texas where my brother seemed to get stationed very time he was Stateside. I like traveling by car. The freedom to stop and explore when you come across something interesting is wonderful. Had we travelled by plane or train we wouldn’t have discovered the amazing diner/truck stop in Eagleville, Missouri which became a regular stop for us. We always stopped on the way to Texas and on the way home. We were able to stop at Love’s whenever we saw one. Their truckstops are amazing. I recall getting excited every time I saw one of their signs and my little brother and I would beg to stop there.

 

When I was in high school I always wanted to travel the world. I thought I would get on a plane and see Germany, Scotland, France, and so many other places. When I was 16 I was diagnosed with panic attacks and anxiety disorder. These were so bad that my plans for travel (along with my hopes of joining the military) were dashed. There was no way I could get on a plane, many of my attacks led to the hospital where I was hooked up to oxygen. The thought of being stuck on a plane terrified me. Now that I have lived with this for years I am sure I could travel by plane just fine though my sister helped me to come up with a new dream way to travel.

 

It all started when I realized my disorder stood in my way of travel. I was resigned to think I would never see the world until my sister came along with a plan. We would travel by train across the country. Once we were to the ocean we would hire a boat. Carri said it had to be an old fashioned boat, the kind pirates had. We would hire a crew and sail to .wherever our hearts desired. Once we were on land we would travel by train once again. Obviously, this will not come to pass but it got me thinking about travelling by boat. While I may not ever be able to travel by pirate ship I could certainly travel by cruise ship. My aunt has said you can hardly tell you’re on a boat with the larger ones. I think that would be a fun way to travel and I could still go by train once I reach my destination.

 

What is your ideal way to travel?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to By Pirate Ship

  1. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Sorry your anxiety derailed your travel plans! I’ve traveled by boat twice. The first time (our move to America), I was too young to remember. The second time, I went on a Caribbean cruise with a friend. I got seasick once, but other than that it was a great time. Hope you get a chance to go somewhere!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jeff7salter says:

    I concur with your aunt that those cruise ships are so large and so stable — in fair weather, anyway — that you’re hardly aware of motion… unless you’re on the fantail in the breeze and watching the churning wake.
    There are quite a few noises, however:
    one (in my case, in 1998, on Carnival) was that our cabin was apparently so near the engine room or the propeller shaft that I heard / felt the constant thrum.
    Two, was that every 10 minutes night and day somebody was on the P.A. system telling us what was going on and where it was. Really played havoc with my naps.
    As I noted last week, I don’t fly anymore… though I used to do so without much worry.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have heard mixed reviews of cruise ships, although they are obviously very popular, judging by how very many people take them all year ’round.
    However,t he idea that they are SO big that they don;t feel like you are on a boat kind of kills the whole idea for me. A pirate-type ship, now we’re talking!
    I sincerely hope that the panic attacks are gone. However, there was a Denver Bronco who had to give up his career because he had claustrophobia so bad that he panicked when on a plane going to an away-game, (they had to land the plane quickly), and made them stop the train a few miles outside of Denver when they tried to get him to another game via Amtrack. Panic attacks are terrible, but real and common.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joselyn says:

    Panic attacks on a plane would be awful. There wouldn’t be any way to get away from the situation.

    I’m not sure whether I would like a cruise or not. Being able to just sit and read would be nice, but the noises Jeff mentioned would be awful. There is no way my husband could deal with that.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

