Anyway, I am Beside Myself

A Word-Nerd Rant on this Free Week here at 4F,1H.

Anyways;Besides
There seems to be a new epidemic of these.

I have never heard anyone say “Anyways” in my life and now, it is everywhere. I’ve lived in many places, known many people who learned English as a second language, ( or even fifth language), from all over the world, yet never heard this before. I actually know people who purposely do not speak proper English because they think it sounds snooty, but I have never heard them say this. (Yes, They will purposely say, “He don’t like that”, when they know it is “He doesn’t like that”…I never would have believed there were such people in this world.)
But, here we have “Anyways, as I was saying…” or “I wouldn’t do that anyways.” What are they thinking? It has always been “AnyWAY, as I was saying” and “I wouldn’t do that anyWAY”. Did they hear someone say that and think, “Oh, I must be saying it wrong?” Or do they think it sounds clever, like another pet peeve of mine; “It was so FUN!”?
(Give me a moment while I gnash my teeth.)
It’s driving me batty.

There was a girl in the neighborhood where I lived when I was a kid who insisted on singing *Jingle bells, Jingle bells, jingle all the WAYS* and  I couldn’t stop her. I tried to point out that it made no sense and it also does did not rhyme with “sleigh”. It fell on articulately-deaf ears, but that was one silly little 8-year-old.

We also have a new horror: “besides the point”. Really? You can say, “Besides, the sleigh is only going along the way they were headed”, which infers that something is beside the point; the point that is being made. We take beside the point to mean something extra to confirm an argument,(as above), or as an aside, a piece of relevant but non-essential information added to a context: “It wasn’t actually snowing during the ride, but that is BESIDE the point”. “BESIDES the point” makes no sense…do people hear themselves?

mannys-pink-girl

So, that is my word-nerd rant this time around. Please let me know what you think.

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in Random thoughts, Tonette Joyce. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Anyway, I am Beside Myself

  1. jeff7salter says:

    LOL — I share your pain. One that particularly grates my ears is, “that’s a great ideal.”
    Oh well.
    I’ve heard the plural of anyway — anyways — for most of my life. I grew up [in southeast Louisiana] hearing it. Never at home, of course — but on the playgrounds from kids and in town from the adults.
    Don’t believe I’ve heard the plural mis-use of Beside. Hope I don’t.

    Like

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Yes, it’s everywhere. Seems like people think improper grammar helps them fit in. I see “suppose to” and “hardly never” quite often.

    Like

  3. I have seen my Facebook feed overflow with memes with improper grammar. I have seen several people with college degrees sharing them and I think it makes them sound uneducated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

