Guest Author: Lucy Kubash and The Christmas Wish

This is guest author week, and since the holidays are coming up I asked my friend and fellow Mid-Michigan RWA member Lucy to come and share a little bit about her short story anthology called The Christmas Wish. She kindly agreed, so I’ll let her have the floor:

lucy-kubash
Thank you for having me as a guest at Four Foxes and One Hound today! I love this blog, and I’m honored to be here to talk about my e-book The Christmas Wish, a collection of three short stories that all take place during the holiday season. Two of the stories, “Home for Christmas” and “The Christmas Wish,” were previously published in Woman’s World magazine some years ago, but I rewrote and updated them before publishing them for Kindle. “The Bells of Christmas” is an original story published only on Kindle.

the-christmas-wishMost of the stories I write have rural or small town settings, and these are no different. I guess that’s because having grown up in a rural area, I can relate more to people who live there. “Home for Christmas” takes place in Wyoming, in a ranch setting, and is a sequel to the story “Someday Soon” from my Taking Risks e-book. “The Bells of Christmas” is set in a small town probably not much different from the many towns I live near; “The Christmas Wish” is a story I’m very fond of. The heroine’s daughter has one special request for Christmas. She wants a horse, but the farm where they live is falling on hard times, and the wish is one that might not be granted. I love this story because my own daughter wanted a horse at that age (much as I always did) and while it took a big leap of faith, I was able to make that dream come true for her. I even bought Staccato with a check from my writing! The e-book is dedicated to his memory.

My stories are all Stories Told from the Heart, about everyday people and reflecting emotions and situations we may have all experienced in one way or another. For more information about them please visit me at my website, my blogs about writing and on pets, on Facebook, and on Twitter.

Patricia Kiyono’s thoughts: I enjoyed these sweet Christmas tales. There are three short stories in this collection, as well as a few excerpts from other stories by Lucy. They’re quick reads, but great for a smile on a dreary day.

 

About Patricia Kiyono

During her first career, Patricia Kiyono taught elementary music, computer classes, elementary classrooms, and junior high social studies. She now teaches music education at the university level. She lives in southwest Michigan with her husband, not far from her five children, nine grandchildren (so far), and great-granddaughters. Current interests, aside from writing, include sewing, crocheting, scrapbooking, and music. A love of travel and an interest in faraway people inspires her to create stories about different cultures. Check out her sweet historical contemporary romances at her Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Patricia-Kiyono/e/B0067PSM5C/
This entry was posted in Guest author, Patricia Kiyono and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Guest Author: Lucy Kubash and The Christmas Wish

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Pleased to meet you, Lucy, and welcome to 4F1H.
    Congratulations on getting your stories released to Woman’s World — that’s a wide readership.
    How far back was that?
    I’m also fond of small towns and/or rural areas — both as reader and author — as the settings for good stories. Partly, I suppose, because you see (on screen) and read SO MANY things set in large cities… especially NYC or L.A. or Miami. It’s almost as though there are only three cities in the whole country. People need to be reminded, I suppose, that there is plenty of genuine heart in the heartland.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lucy Kubash says:

      Thank you, Jeff. I hate to admit it but the two WW stories were first published in the late 1980s! However, the stories WW published then were much longer than they are now. I did some updating when I rewrote them for Kindle, but the heart of the stories are the same. Having never lived in a big city, I hesitate to set a story there. The one I could relate to is Chicago, since I’m only about 90 miles away.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jeff7salter says:

        Interestingly, I loved in Chicago — as a toddler, for about two years, I believe.
        Don’t remember much, but I do have a few vivid recollections: snow on the sidewalk higher than my head, a storage room / wash room in the apartment complex where the adults gathered to chat (and wait for their clothes to cycle), playing with modeling clay with the babysitter, a swing my dad rigged in the doorway, and snippets of my experience in the hospital for tonsils.
        Oh, and I fell into Lake Michigan — my dad fished me out.

        Like

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      You’d enjoy Lucy’s stories, Jeff. The settings are so peaceful.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome to the blog, Lucy and thanks for the kind words.We hope you drop in any time!
    I agree with Jeff that being published in Woman’s World is something to be congratulated!. I wish you continued success.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Lucy! I absolutely love that you were able to make your daughter’s wish come true (especially with writing money, LOL!)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joselyn says:

    I love books set in small towns. I’ve also always lived in a small town or rural area (except for college and grad school.) The pace and the priorities are so much different.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Fifty Favorites for 2017: Part Four | Four Foxes, One Hound

Leave a Reply

