Fall Down,Lights Up

The question this week is “When do we decorate for Christmas?” The answer:

After Thanksgiving weekend, and not a day before.

A regional radio station starts playing all-Christmas music before Halloween. I suppose they are trying to get retail audiences, and although that station is set on our car radios, those buttons don’t get pushed by me for over a month…not until after the Thanksgiving weekend.

Food, friends and family are so important to me, (in reverse order), that it is what I named my other blog. I cook all the time but do certain, special and fancy foods for every holiday, and I decorate as well. I did more when my sons were very young, but still, Fall and Halloween decorations go up in October. The decorations that look like Autumnal leaves and scarecrows stay up, but on November first, the jack-o-lanterns that can be turned around then get to face the walls so they look like plain pumpkins, and the ghosts , skeletons, spiders and the like come down , while turkeys, Indians, Pilgrims and cornucopias go up. I have family in, often houseguests who stay for days, so the feasting goes on and not until Saturday or Sunday do they leave, so no sooner than Monday do all the Fall holiday decorations come down to make room for the Christmas ones.

And Christmas gets put up very soon afterward, because it is a lot of work for only a few weeks.

That is when the Christmas music is allowed to come on as well. In fact, I have a number of favorite Christmas CDs that get played a lot…and the radio station that I had been avoiding gets put on not only in the car, but on my radio at home while I decorate, wrap presents and cook.

Nothing Christmasy comes down in our house until Epiphany, the celebration of the Wise Men’s arrival. This used to always be celebrated on January 3rd, but most churches celebrate it two Sundays after Christmas.

My mother used to leave her decorations up for a long time. Once, she had the tree up for so long that she hurriedly took it down when she realized it was almost Palm Sunday! However, one year she left a ‘spray’, (boughs of evergreens tied with wide, red ribbon and sprayed with artificial snow), up until the following November, when she replaced it with a new one.

For whatever reason, it has become a tradition for me to play George C. Scott’s version of A Christmas Carol while I decorate the tree, which will probably happen this weekend, since I am running a bit behind and my granddaughters will be here to help. I pulled all the boxes of Christmas decorations to the front of the garage the other day when I put the boxes of Fall decorations out there. No matter how much I check and double-check, inevitably something from any and every holiday gets left out! And, looking at me as I write this, smiling hopefully, is a darling pair of scarecrows on a stand with two big wooden pumpkins, who did not make it into a box with the others.

Fellas, don’t feel bad. There is bound to be a Santa, and elf or even a Baby Jesus who won’t make it back the Christmas boxes before they get put into the garage in about five weeks!

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in big plans, childhood, Christmas, Family, Holiday, Life, memories, Tonette Joyce. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fall Down,Lights Up

  1. jeff7salter says:

    sounds very reasonable to structure your approach to holiday decor in this fashion.
    And it appears that you have the cooperation of hubby (and kids, while younger) — that’s a plus.
    I have to say, however, that the choice of George C Scott’s particular version of A Christmas Carol is a bit puzzling. I think I’ve seen all or most of that one and don’t recall that it stood out from the 1930s version that many would recognize. Well, I guess the special effects are better. Is the music significant?

    Like

    • “Cooperation of hubby” consists of him letting me do it all! We’ll see how cooperative the grandgirls are, but usually, dressing up the house is something they like.
      I can’t say that the music is of significance in G.C.Scott’s version, Jeff.I just never got the old geezer who was so nasty and then was kicking up his heels. When I saw the 1984 version, the story made more sense to me.It was clearer to me HOW Scrooge became embittered and I found his self-rediscovery more plausible.

      Like

  2. Joselyn says:

    I always miss putting something away too. Our Christmas decorations have been so difficult to get to when stored that it isn’t worth trying to get the missed object into the bins. It just stays out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t get all the decorations put away at once. That’s why they tend to be spread out in various places in the basement, and why it takes me a while to find everything. As I mentioned yesterday on Jeff’s post, I have to practice holiday music early, but I don’t listen to it until after Thanksgiving. I was happy when the station I listen to in the car announced that it wouldn’t play Christmas music until the end of November! I don’t have my tree up yet (got sidetracked by Christmas book promo) so I’m hoping my grandkids will help me when they spend the night tomorrow.

    Like

  4. Sounds like you’re very busy between guests and then switching out decorations. I hope you and the granddaughters have fun decorating.

    Like

Leave a Reply

