Memories of Sweet Christmases Past

Today I asked author Christina Lorenzen op by and tell us about her newest book and what inspired it.

Memories of Sweet Christmases Past

Life has a way of sometimes throwing us into a spiral – challenges, changes and loss are no strangers to any of us. My own family has been through several losses over the last decade, making me long for days gone by. I truly understand that old adage ‘these are the good old days’. Perhaps that is why I love to write sweet romances with happy endings, stories that you let escape to a world seen through rose colored glasses.

So when I saw a Christian publisher’s call for stories with a snow globe theme I knew instantly this would be the perfect project for me. I had been wanting to write a Christmas novel for years, but had never found quite the right story to tell. This particular story, featuring a ‘special’ antique snow globe, would involve the heroine and/or hero traveling back in time. I saw the chance to write a Christmas story, travel back to a sweet Christmas during 1940 and revisit my love of snow globes all in one story. Perfect.

Though my own snow globe collection is fairly small, I’ve been fascinated with them since I was a child. Who doesn’t like to give those heavy glass snow globes a good hard shake and then watch wide eyed as the tiny silvery glitter flutters to the bottom? My aunt had quite a collection of them and each year I’d go from one to the other, giving it a shake so I could watch the scene inside slowly be covered by the magical glitter. The memory of one very old snow globe where a soldier and his sweetheart stood by a patch of snow covered trees sparked the idea that would become my first Christmas novel, Snow Globe Reunion.

The holidays are an emotional rollercoaster. There’s nothing like ‘going home for the holidays’, difficult family members and all. For Cary Sanders, going home to her parents’ home for yet another Christmas without a job or fiancé has her wishing she could go anywhere else. When her flight is canceled she finds herself in the airport coffee shop, sharing a table with a mysterious traveler named Mrs. Gibson. And when Mrs. Gibson seems to vanish in thin air, Carrie is left holding the bag – literally. Mrs. Gibson has left behind her tote and, after guiltily taking a peek, in it is an antique snow globe. With nothing better to do than lie around a bench and wait, Carrie can’t resist (like myself) giving that old snow globe a shake.

You’re going to have read Snow Globe Reunion to find out what happens, but here’s an excerpt to get you started.

cl

Excerpt from Snow Globe Reunion:

“Not especially looking forward to the holidays this year, are you? Don’t you let a man ruin this time with your family. They come; they go. Sometimes the perfect man is right under your nose the whole time.”

Uncomfortable with this too personal exchange, Carrie steered the subject.

“I never introduced myself. I’m Carrie. And you are?”

“Expecting you.” The bright pink lips turned up in a big smile as the blue eyes glanced down at Carrie’s left hand.

“Mrs. Gibson. I was married for sixty years mind you. I know what I speak of. He’s out there. You just need to slow down and pay attention.”

This was beginning to sound like a conversation with her mother, she thought. The now cold cinnamon bun was no longer as appealing as it had been when she’d been standing in line. She sipped her coffee.

Giving up, Carried asked. “Sixty years? That is a long time. What happened to Mr. Gibson?”

The woman’s eyes narrowed. “What do you think happened to him?”

A grin flickered at the corner of the woman’s mouth. Suddenly her mother’s words rang in her ears. Never talk to strangers. Granted, she had been five years old, but right now she was sorry she hadn’t heeded them. Another thing she was sorry about. She supposed she could have prayed about that. About a lot of things. But they weren’t on speaking terms. Just one more thing for her mother to be disappointed about. The woman reached a ring laden hand out and covered Carrie’s own.

“Child, you have an overactive imagination. He passed last year. He was ninety-two years old. Being a lady, I’m not going to share my age with you, and you shouldn’t ask.”

****

I hope I’ve got you interested enough to pick up a copy of Snow Globe Reunion today. I guarantee you a sweet, fun holiday read. So tell me about a special snow globe that graces your home during the Christmas season.

 

Thank you for stopping by Christina. You can pick up a copy of Snow Globe Reunion on Amazon.

 

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Memories of Sweet Christmases Past

  1. jeff7salter says:

    [Waving wildly to Christina Lorenzen]
    Welcome to 4F1H, Christina.
    Enjoyed your excerpt. I still think I may have a Christmas story inside me somewhere, but it has not yet surfaced in the over 100 concepts and/or starts I’ve made.
    Snow globes — one of my grandmother’s possessions that vanished… which I wish I could have held on to. I remember playing with it as a child. She had it when I was young in the 1950s, so it was surely at least 20-30 years old by then. None of this cheap glitter they use nowadays — this one looked like a REAL village with REAL snow falling. I loved it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Jeff,
      Thanks for the warm welcome! Glad you enjoyed the excerpt. I’m thinking somewhere deep inside there’s a Christmas story in you lol. Maybe someday. I’ll bet I would have loved your grandmother ‘s snow globe too. They sure don’t make them like they used to.

      Liked by 2 people

      • jeff7salter says:

        I just wish I could remember what exactly was the scene inside that globe. was it one house or cabin? or was it a tiny street scene? or an entire miniature village?
        So much just disappeared when my mom sold the entire contents of that house (including an antique stove and a pedal sewing machine) for just a few hundred dollars. Whoever bought that batch surely got their investment back a hundred fold.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Joselyn says:

    I love the idea of centering stories around a snow globe. All kinds of ideas are popping into my head. Wishing you all the best with your new story.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for stopping by Christina. I picked up my copy of your book and am looking forward to reading it.
    I also loved looking at snow globes when I was little.

    Like

  4. Welcome, Christina! I always loved snow globes.When I first read about the ideas of stories based on them ,I thought it would be a wonderful idea…and I can see that I was right! I really want to read these
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the warm welcome Tonette. It certainly is a pleasure to be here. It’s such a great idea basing stories on snow globes. The creative juices have so many places to go. I hope if you read it you’ll enjoy it. Merry Christmas and a happy new year to you too!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lucie Ulrich says:

    I really enjoyed this book. Christmas and snow globes go together. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. maryel0621 says:

    Hi Christina Lorenzen and everyone! Happy Holidays to you all! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Welcome back to 4F1H, Christina! Hope you’re enjoying the holiday season.

    Like

  8. Terri Weldon says:

    I loved Snowglobe Reunion! It’s a great story. I’m looking forward to your next book.

    Like

  9. elainecsc2013 says:

    I enjoyed Snowglobe Reunion very much. I’ve got to get you a review posted.

    Like

Leave a Reply

