Stalled words. 

 

 

Last night I was writing furiously on a story only to reach a point where I couldn’t figure out what would happen next. I felt like I had hit a wall and when I finally found a door it led to nothing.

 

This has been happening a lot lately. I start a story and am so passionate about it. The words are magically appearing on the page then the ink well dries up. I spend weeks staring at it trying to figure out how to move my characters and story along but I come up with nothing but the comments of others and the fear that publishers won’t want it.

“You need more action.”

“That person wouldn’t act like that.”

“Where’s the rest of the story?”

“You should have done this instead.”

Don’t get me wrong I love talking to my readers. There are times when I hear these comments and completely agree with them, maybe if I had done that differently it would have turned out better. But when I am sitting down to write those words nag at me as if they were disapproving and cause me to second guess everything I had written to that point.

 

Last night I hit that spot yet again. This morning I decided that I need to push through. My first draft is NOT going to be a masterpiece, shoot, it probably will look like a middle school kid wrote it. But, nobody writes a great first draft. That is what edits and rewrites are for. I need to lush aside all the pressure I have put on myself to write an amazing story the first time around and just go back to writing because I NEED to tell a story.

 

Have you ever been filled with doubts while writing? What did you do to get pass that?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Stalled words. 

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Fewer doubts — since my publishing contracts — about my ability to write “readable” fiction.
    But still have many doubts about whether I’ll EVER break through to a bestseller list. It just seems so difficult to get the attention of anyone in a nationally prominent position, whose recommendation would carry much weight (beyond her/his own circle of acquaintance).
    That said, I also have MANY MANY stories which I’ve started and left at a few thousand words. Also MANY which have 5k-15k words but I had to leave them. Furthermore, I have a handful of stories with over 25,000 words which I just can’t seem to get back to, in order to finish them.
    I was all excited and writing like crazy and then a deadline jumped in my face, or I got a new idea for a new story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I have doubts every time I sit down to write – which is why it takes a lot longer than it should to complete a story. I get hung up on details when I realize I don’t know enough about an occupation, an illness, a location, or way of doing something to sound credible, and then I have to stop and look things up. Lately I’ve been just powering through by typing something like “insert medical condition here” and then continuing. Then I write myself a note to look it up AFTER I’m done writing. Doesn’t always work, but it’s helped my word counts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hate to say it but I’m filled with doubt probably most of the time! Although to me my story sounds perfectly fine, in fact maybe fabulous, because I am so in love with my characters, I know in the back of my mind that it probably is not so fabulous after all. But like you said, the best thing to do is just keep writing, just keep moving forward. Once the book or story is done, you can always go back and change things, make them better. Not sure who said this but “there is no good writing, only rewriting.” Good luck with yours!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. If you don’t have doubts, you are too full of yourself to write anything that anyone would care to read, as far as I am concerned!
    I find that reading my story from the beginning restarts my mind into the characters and story.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

