Free Christmas Week

Here we have a “Free Week” …the week before Christmas!
What is ‘free’ about that?

To top it off, I have the first cold that I have had in some time…which is really saying something for me. I was over-due, but, of course, could it have picked a worse week? It ended up feeling like the flu, for which I tested negatively. It does include a sinus infection, though.I’m on meds, I slept most of Thursday and I’m on my way to wellness and Christmas!

I have really scaled-back on my buying and my cooking, not that there aren’t 8 kinds of cookies alteady made, a turkey thawing, with pies and sides ready to get in the picture, but for me, it’s small.

I managed to finish the fifth book in a series I am reading to catch up with my grandson, a darling series that I must review here sometime.

I have the last book of a more adult series that I have been reading for at least five years, one that I stuck with even when I was not happy with the turn that the story and characters took. I know the writer and she made a ‘return’, but still. I want to see it culminate, but this is the second time I checked it out and I have already renewed it. ( I can’t bring myself to purchase it. She doesn’t need my money or support anyway.) Bad timing to try to read right now and I guess I really am not ‘into’ it as I should be.

I misplaced my tablet, (which is my e-reader), for almost two months. It’s back, but it really threw off my catching up with many of my fellow bloggers’ works. I will get to you, my dear People! And I have been given or won a number of books, in hand and virtual. If I live to be 100, I will never read all I have. Yet…I keep taking, and buying, more.

And despite what I said some posts back, I have found that the longer, dark evenings have actually NOT been conducive to me getting into my writing more. We just had the Winter Solstice this week, which means that slowly the daylight will be lasting longer. I think I need it.

So, I wish all of you a Merry Christmas….and Happy Hanukkah and Happy any other Holidays you may celebrate. I had a friend from India call to wish me a “Happy Boxing Day” some years ago. I thanked him but said we really didn’t celebrate it here in the USA, but I know it is big elsewhere, so Happy Boxing Day, as well!
We had readers from 76 countries Word Press told us last year, so there must be more celebrations going on. Enjoy!

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Free Christmas Week

  1. J.Q. Rose says:

    Sorry to hear you have the sniffles. Get well soon to enjoy Santa’s trip to your house! Free week for reading? I don’t think so. You sound pretty busy. Have a Merry Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jeff7salter says:

    76 countries? wow. I check the stats every now and then for traffic, but had not even noticed anything about the nationalities.
    Sorry that you’re fighting illness at this time of year. I’m keeping my fingers crossed, because I’ve often caught a cold (or whatever) about the time of the holidays.
    Merry Christmas to you and yours — hope you can get some rest and recover quickly.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Sounds like a busy week for you and add that infection to the mix you are probably not getting the rest you should

    What kind of cookies do you have made?

    Happy Christmas!

    Like

    • Oh, I slept an incredible amount yesterday, Angie! That may have been better than the Rxs my NP gave me!
      I made most of the traditional ones I usually do:The cut-outs are
      Cocoa Gingerbread
      Spice,
      Lemon-Pecan,
      Fudge-Filled Chocolate Sandwich
      Mint-Filled Chocolate Sandwich
      Date-Nut Meringues
      Cherry-Nut and
      Peanut Butter
      Take a look on Facebook for a picture of them.
      Oddly, I have not made the recipe I gave to you for the Sugar Cookies!
      If any of these sound good, most of the recipes are on the link I gave you, or contact me.
      Merry Christmas!

      Like

  4. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Sorry to check in so late! We had our family Christmas last night, and three stayed overnight. I agree that this is the worst time to get sick – I’ve spent a fair share of Christmas holidays in bed with a fever or wishing I could be there to recover. Misplacing your tablet must have been frustrating! Hope things turn around for you soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

