New Year New Goals

 

Looking back on 2016 it was an awful year for me. I didn’t finish any of my works in progress, I gained weight (a lot), and I didn’t really promote my books. I realized near Thanksgiving that I had lost contact with a lot of people I used to talk to every day. 

So when 2017 rang in it brought with it a clean slate. There are a few things that I feel I NEED to do this year.

I will take one day out of each month for a “date” with my kids. Some of these will be all four of us, some with just me and one of them. My daughter has already asked for me to take her to see Beauty and the Beast. This is her last year of high school so I want to make sure we get to spend some one on one quality time before she is off to change the world.

 

I will eat healthier and exercise more. I would like to get back to the dress size I was a year and two months ago but I will be happy as long as I get part way there. Part of my problem is that I am sitting at the computer typing all day. I have made it a goal to get up and do a little exercise every thirty minutes. Since I work from home this is doable. Tuesday went well, every 30 minutes I got up, stretched, did a quick seven minute workout, then went back to work. Not only did I feel better at the end of my work day but I actually got more work done. I think this is going to be a great way to help me get healthier. And because my children are so amazingly supportive we plan to have Saturdays where they go with me for long walks.

 

My next goal is to finish writing at least two stories and then get them published. To help me reach this goal I decided to call upon my mom. While I was writing my first book she would read it as I was writing. I would hand over three chapters at a time. I had to make sure I was at the computer spinning the story whenever I could be because as soon as she got done reading what I had given her she would ask for more and give her reactions. That pushed me to finish it within a month. Momma agreed to do this again so I started writing on a sequel that I have been asked for by my readers and am coming along nicely. So I am hopeful that I will surpass my goal of two finished books this year. With getting them published I also need to look into marketing. I slacked off in 2016 but having the internet at home made it difficult to do Facebook parties and I don’t have enough reviews to take out the ads I wanted to do. In 2017 that is NOT going to stand in my way. I may not have the internet at home but I do have a way to get to it if I need it. So it is time to book parties to get my name and my books seen again. An author friend added me to a marketing group where I have found some great information which I plan to take complete advantage of.

2017 is just waiting for me to make it a good year and I plan to do just that. Do you have any goals for the new year?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Year New Goals

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Gosh, I got tired just reading YOUR goals.
    Great that your mom is an eager beta reader for you. It’s terrific to have someone you trust who is willing to give you prompt feedback that you (presumably) find helpful.
    Yeah, 2016 was kind of a stinky year — can’t disagree.
    That workout routine sounds great — I need to get up from my chair more often also. If I’m in a groove, I might sit here until the restroom calls me out !
    Hope you get those stories done and out.
    Good luck on the dress size quest.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You sound way too much like me, Angie and you are right , we have to get back on track writing-wise and physically.
    I lost , then gained, a lot of weight last year.It was a big year of taking care of others and then my health going down at the end.
    I need someone to lend a friendly but critical eye on my works.I think it would help me a lot.
    Good luck with your goals.They seem like great ones to me.

    Like

  3. Lucy Kubash says:

    I’m working on the sequel to my book, which came out in 2009. Hope to finish that and start on a third book in what I now see as a series. I find it especially hard to exercise in the winter, because I don’t like walking in the cold. But I’m determined to get in at least some walking, if I have to do it in the house! Wishing you much success with your writing and all your goals.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Best of luck on your sequel. Walking in the cold is awful. Our local mall (there are only a few stores in there) hosts walking groups in the winter. So people will meet up there and walk around the mall away from the cold. I haven’t done it yet but it seems like something to check out. Maybe there is something like that where you live.

      Like

  4. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Sounds like you have specific goals and a plan to reach each of them. I’m raising a glass of unsweetened tea to you (I need to eat healthier, too!) and wish you the best. I like your plan of getting up every half hour. I usually get up that often, too – except it’s usually to look for a snack. I need to replace the snack with a less-fattening option.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. J.Q. Rose says:

    I like your plan to write, then exercise. 7 minute work out? What do you do during that time? Since I had my eye surgery last summer, I find I can’t stare at the screen for more than an hour at a time, so I’m forced to get up and leave it for the day when the screen feels like it’s burning a hole through my eye. So I’m going to set a timer for 30 min and leave the screen. I could do a few exercises before I return. Thanks for the idea. More exercise is one of my goals for the year. Give your mom a hug from me for her supporting your writing. Wish my mom were still around so she could read my stories. Best wishes on achieving your goals!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I start out with a few stretches. Then I turn on Funky Town (my youngest loves this song and it’s 7 minutes and 49 seconds long) while that sing is playing I alternate between jogging in place and knee ups (I think that’s what they’re called. Leg goes up as the opposite elbow goes to meet it) I’ve lost a half inch so far this week doing that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

