Winter drinks

 

I love winter and all things wintry so it seems natural that I love my warm drinks. I always have for as long as I can remember.

 

When I was younger my dad took me hunting with him. It didn’t go so well, I was warning the animals and even though I could walk silently through the woods I would purposefully step on twigs in hopes that the animals would stay in hiding. Dad never took me again. When we got back to the farmhouse I looked forward to a cup of coffee. I had always watched my dad and older brothers drink it when they got back from hunting and wanted to try. It was not for me. I love the smell of coffee but not the taste of it. Even though I don’t drink coffee I keep some in my house because my teenage boy loves the stuff. He has a classic brew and some instant stuff that is supposed to taste like a vanilla latte. He says it’s good but I’ll just take his word for it.

 

Every afternoon when my youngest child gets home from school I get out the tea set. While he is doing his homework the two of us,sometimes  Jessica will join us, will enjoy several cups of a decaf black tea. If either of us have had a rough day I’ll set out the sugar because a cup of sweetened tea can help chase the blues away.

 

Hot chocolate is also a constant in our house. I keep canisters of instant for when it is just one cup or if the kids want to make their own. At Christmas time we will buy instant Carmel cream hot chocolate and instant chocolate mint but I only buy one tin of each because it is expensive. These typically get used during a Christmas movie night. When I am feeling indulgent I will make hot chocolate on the stovetop. My youngest likes to come in and help. We don’t measure anything we just toss in cocoa powder, sugar, vanilla, and at times other random ingredients into the pan of milk. We taste it as we go. Once it is finished I pour it into our mugs and top with whipped cream and sprinkles (for the kids). Making hot chocolate this way we’ve had several different versions. My daughter’s favorite has been the strawberry one (she calls it strawcolate), my middle child liked the cinnamon one, and Wyatt likes them all.

 

I tend to bounce between hot chocolate and tea as my go to hot beverages in the winter. Do you have a drink that changes every time you make it?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Winter drinks

  1. jeff7salter says:

    oh, I’m a BIG fan of coffee. But you’ll hear more about that tomorrow.
    I used to drink a lot more hot cocoa than I do these days. Not exactly sure why it fell off my go-to list.
    There was a brief period when I would run down to the staff lounge and make three cups of hot choc. — one for me, one for the Exec. Sect’y, and one for the business manager. That was when I worked in the public library and the three of us were always there early, long before many of the staff arrived & the place opened.
    Never cared for tea…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. pinkiebag says:

    Oh you can’t beat a nice hot chocolate as a treat on a cold day. It makes a nice change to all of the cups of tea that I have, Chloe https://pinkiebag.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There is a big draw to coffee for teenage boys anymore! My grandson would live at Starbucks, if he could.
    Your cocoa method sounds like mine…but more of that tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joselyn says:

    Hot chocolate from scratch sounds so decadent and with cinnamon.., yum.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I learned to drink coffee in college when I had to pull all-nighters, but I didn’t really enjoy it until much later. I always loved hot chocolate but I have to really limit myself now – since it’s sweet, it makes me want to drink or eat more chocolate, and the milk in it bothers me later on. Making hot chocolate together sounds like a fun family activity – when my girls were small we used to add different things to our mugs – leftover candy canes, caramel syrup, and of course, more chocolate!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

