Creative Outlet

Yesterday I had planned to write about a reading challenge that I am doing for 2017. It gives specific types of books to read So you’re broadening your reading horizons but then my seven year old came home waving a piece of folded, taped shut paper and the content had me shift gears.

 

We all know writing is a creative. It is a huge outlet for me and always was. I remember writing constantly when I was first diagnosed with anxiety disorder, panic attacks, and depression as a teenager. My writing was a way for me to communicate with the world what I was unable to say. When my uncle was seventeen he passes away from leukemia and while I didn’t ever get to meet him in person I did get to know him through the art he left behind. I remember sneaking up to his old bedroom which he had painted While he was sick. I loved seeing the cartoons he had painted on the walls. I had some of his art framed and hung in my bedroom all through my childhood. Creativity is important to not only me but to the world so when I see adults encouraging young people to express themselves I get excited.

 

The paper my son brought home was from his art teacher. Wyatt was one of three kids in his classroom and one of thirty in his school of over five hundred students who had been given this letter. On Sunday there is going to be a recognition ceremony for young artists of Muscatine. The ceremony will be at The Figge Art Museum in the Quad Cities. After the certificates if recognition are awarded one student from each school will be selected for a scholarship to a summer art class at the museum. I had never heard of the Young Artists of Muscatine so I went to the school to talk with the teacher. She explained that Wyatt has a piece of art on display at the museum and this is to recognize all the students who have a passion and talent for art. She said she could see in him that not only does he enjoy creating but he has a talent for it. So on Sunday we will be going to the Cities to this ceremony then we’ll probably spend the afternoon exploring and talking about all the art that graces the walls there.

 

I encourage all if my kids to create. I don’t care what it is or how they make it. My daughter chooses to sing and enjoys acting. My Quin loved to draw but has stepped back from that (I think it has something to do with him just wanting to spend that time with his friends) and I’m alright with that. He joined chorus this year and loves it. Wyatt has a little corner of my dining room filled with oil pastels, acrylic paints, colored pencils, clay, an easel, and canvasses. It brings me joy to see them express themselves. It helps when if they don’t want to talk they can show me how they feel in some way.

 

The Arts are so important and I like seeing that teachers are encouraging students who have a passion for it. What is your go to creative outlet?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Creative Outlet

  1. jeff7salter says:

    First, congratulations on your son’s interest, talent, and this recognition.
    Fantastic that his teacher(s) and school are supportive and that you encourage him at home.
    I was blessed with two parents who encouraged my various creative pursuits — which included “art” (drawing and clay sculpture) and writing (poems and stories) from a very young age.
    Along the way, I had a few teachers who were also very supportive. It means a LOT.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    As a musician, I couldn’t agree more. Congratulations to your son! Be sure to take a lot of pictures at the ceremony.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations to your son! How exciting for him and you. I guess writing in some form has always been my creative outlet, as I’m not very artsy/crafty. But I always encouraged my kids to express themselves creatively however they wanted.I hope you all have a wonderful time.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joselyn says:

    That’s awesome! Our county does something similar. They display the winning pieces during symphony concert. It’s really cool.

    Like

Leave a Reply

