Food for Thought and Writing

This week, one of the foxes asked about our go-to snacks while we’re writing.

keurig

Two weeks ago we discussed our favorite winter beverages, and I mentioned that at this time of year I’m usually drinking something hot (coffee, tea, or plain hot water). When I’m working on my laptop,  which is a good chunk of each day, I’ll almost always have one or the other within reach. During the summer I’ll drink cold versions of those same drinks (yes, I enjoy iced coffee!). I’ll occasionally splurge on a coffee shop type treat, but I don’t usually have them when I’m writing. They tend to go cold before I’m done, and then I feel like I’ve wasted the drink.

healthy-snackI have a problem with snacks. Once I start, I can’t stop eating. If I sit down with a bag of potato chips I won’t stop eating until the bag is empty – no matter how large the bag. So when I sit down with a snack I have to put one handful or chips, popcorn, or pretzels in a bowl. In the past several months I’ve been more mindful of calories, so I’m trying to replace the salty carbs with apple slices or carrot sticks. Regardless of the snack, I’m careful to keep napkins or baby wipes handy when I’m writing so I’m not getting stuff all over my keyboard. There’s nothing worse than sticky keys! If I were smart, I would skip the snack altogether. I’d probably get more done if I didn’t pause so often to put things in my mouth and then have to wipe my hands off.

My family and friends know that I’m a HUGE fan of chocolate, and you may have noticed I didn’t mention it as a writing time snack. That’s because I love chocolate so much that I don’t do anything else when I’m consuming it. Chocolate, my opinion, should be savored, not mindlessly inhaled! So I eat those when I’m doing something I don’t have to think about too much – like watching TV.

What snacks and drinks do you have handy?

About Patricia Kiyono

During her first career, Patricia Kiyono taught elementary music, computer classes, elementary classrooms, and junior high social studies. She now teaches music education at the university level. She lives in southwest Michigan with her husband, not far from her five children, nine grandchildren (so far), and great-granddaughters. Current interests, aside from writing, include sewing, crocheting, scrapbooking, and music. A love of travel and an interest in faraway people inspires her to create stories about different cultures. Check out her sweet historical contemporary romances at her Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Patricia-Kiyono/e/B0067PSM5C/
This entry was posted in favorites, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Food for Thought and Writing

  1. jeff7salter says:

    totally agree about chocolate. yum.
    I need to take your advice about napkins… and keeping the keyboard clean. Mine often looks like landfill.

    Like

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      I once worked at a place where I had to sit at a computer all day long, scoring standardized tests. Someone else was at that same computer during the other shift, and apparently didn’t clean his or hands before using it. I got in the habit of wiping down the keyboard (and the rest of the work area) with a disinfectant wipe every day before I sat down to use it!

      Like

      • jeff7salter says:

        I hated having to share telephones or keyboards (or, earlier, typewriters) with other people. no telling where those faces and fingers have been!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll have to really think this week, but I can tell you this…my mouse needs to be cleaned from when I watch things online and eat!

    Like

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      Oh dear! I had that problem with an older laptop, so I’m more careful now. I don’t use a mouse anymore, so it’s just the keys I have to keep clear.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. maryel0621 says:

    I only have drinks that have a lid when I’m online or reading on my kindle. Years ago I spilled a diet pepsi in my keyboard. Most of the time I drink ice water and snack on something sweet.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I also have to put chips in a bowl or I’ll eat the entire bag.

    I never thought of having wipes on hand so I could snack while typing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

