No Snack Zone

This week we are talking about snacking a the computer.  I don’t. Growing up we were always told not to have food or drinks next to the computer and for the most part that has stuck with me. So when I am writing on a computer I don’t have snacks on hand.

However when I am writing longhand that is a different story. I will keep a little dish with candies and have a pot of tea near as well. The candies vary depending on what I am in the mood for. Sometimes it is hard candy so I am not having as much though there are times I just want chocolate. Usually, I’ll have a piece after writing a chapter.  I will sip my tea throughout writing though. There are times when it just feels right to write like this. With my tea pot, the lights dimmed, with my paper and pen. Here lately I have been happier writing this way too.

If I am writing late at night I won’t have anything to snack on. Due to acid reflux I try not to eat after eight at night.  Even if I am writing until one in the morning I won’t snack but I will have my tea.

Do you keep food and drink away from your electronic devices?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Snack Zone

  1. Joe-the-Husband saw the danger of liquids immediately when we got our first computer. Our kids learned a strict ‘no-drinks-on-the-computer-desk’ policy right away.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I think when we first got a computer we were more strict about it, but now that it’s just me using this laptop I worry less about it. The grandkids use ipads and have their own devices, so I don’t have to worry about messy little hands using my keyboard.
    Writing with the lights dimmed sounds romantic, but with my eyesight it wouldn’t work too well! We all do what works for us, I guess.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. jeff7salter says:

    I have great INTENTIONS about not spilling any liquids on my keyboard, but accidents do happen.
    Just this morning, I managed to tip over my coffee cup and spill a couple ounces of hot coffee onto my upper thigh — though not the keyboard — and I was so engrossed in the conversation (with wife and S-I-L) that it took me a second or two to figure out why my thigh was burning.
    I guess I’ll tell youse guys about my snacking on Hound Day.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t but I certainly should. Last fall I was at a writing retreat and spilled a cup of tea on my laptop. I unplugged it and quickly mopped up what I could. Some of my fellow retreaters even helped me with Q-tips and paper towels. It booted right up the following morning, but about a week later it conked out. I ended up taking it in to a local repair guy, who took it apart and cleaned it for me. It’s been fine ever since, but I should have learned my lesson!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

