Please Welcome Karin Beery!

 

I met Karin a couple years ago at a writers’ retreat where we were the only two writers who showed up. It was a great chance to get to know her and get a lot of writing done.

beeryTell us a little about yourself. I’m Karin Beery – wife to Matt, mom to fur-babies Bucket, Midgie, and Cooper, and aunt to Sarah, Ella, Caleb, and Miles. I’m a business copywriter, editor, and novelist. I love to play card games and board games, watch football and hockey, and hang out with my friends.

What is your favorite type of writing? I have two loves – contemporary fiction with a healthy dose of romance and business content. I love writing stories as much as I love helping small business owners create relevant content that highlights their services and products.

I know you’ve done some in-person author interviews. Who was your favorite? I had the opportunity to interview Debbie Macomber. I tried not to fangirl on her as I asked her about her career and trip to northern Michigan.

What are you working on now? I just wrapped up an edit on my very first manuscript and am finishing the first draft of my next contemporary romance.

Any other projects you are working on? Not strictly writing, I’m working the curriculum for Substantive Editing for Fiction 101 and 201 through the PEN Institute. Later this year both will be available as 6-week interactive classes or do-it-yourself lessons.

What do you do in your spare time? I’m very extroverted, so I’m always looking for ways to spend time with family and friends, whether we’re hanging out at their houses or going to the beach, movies, or theater. I also like to put together puzzles.

Anything else you would like to share? I love living in Michigan, I just wish we had a little more sunshine in the winter.

Rapid fire:

Spinach or brussel sprouts? Brussel sprouts

Scrub the shower or vacuum the rug? Vacuum the rug

Five bedrooms or tiny house? Tiny house

Favorite kind of chocolate? Lindor truffles – it doesn’t matter what kind, as long as its Lindor

More about Karin:

Owner of Write Now Editing and Copywriting Services, Karin Beery specializes in fiction and professional business copy. She is an active member of American Christian Fiction Writers and the American Christian Writers Association. A Christian Proofreaders and Editors Network member, she is the Substantive Editing for Fiction instructor for the PEN Institute. Karin is represented by literary agent Steve Hutson at Word Wise Media. You can connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, or at her website, www.karinbeery.com.

About Joselyn

SAHM writing romance with at a case of the giggles. Former librarian. Avid reader. Runner.
This entry was posted in Joselyn Vaughn, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Please Welcome Karin Beery!

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Welcome to 4F1H, Karin.
    Congrats on landing an agent.
    Are your fur babies canine or feline? or something more exotic?
    I remember struggling thru edits for my first novel to be published. How did you find that process? smooth or rough?

    Like

    • Joselyn says:

      From Karin:
      Thanks, Jeff!

      Cooper is a King Charles Cavalier Spaniel. Bucket is a large black cat (the same size as Cooper) and Midgie is a smaller calico cat.

      I LOVE the editing process (I have a harder time with the first draft). I actually print out my manuscript and edit it with a pen so I can take it with me anywhere and get away from my computer (which is one of the reasons I enjoy it so much).

      Liked by 1 person

      • jeff7salter says:

        sounds like the edits went smoothly for you. For one of my 14 titles, I had to cut some 20,000 words during the first round of edits. That was major surgery.

        Like

  2. Welcome, Karin! I am also curious about the fur babies, who are not QUITE as demanding on your writing time as human kids, but tend to sit on papers and keyboards, (or chew them!)
    I wish you all the best.

    Like

  3. Joselyn says:

    Glad to have you here, Karin!

    Like

  4. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Only two people at a writing retreat? Was that easier or harder to get work done?
    I have to agree with you, Karin, about Michigan not getting enough sunshine! It was fun reading about you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

