A glimpse at 2017

It’s free week once again so I think I am simply going to share what is going on in my life at the moment. I am currently working on something new but since my computer broke I am currently writing by hand so it is taking longer. However I am loving this story. It is something new for me since it doesn’t really fall into romance at all. Even my YA books have a romantic center pulling the story along. This doesn’t. Jess, my sixteen year old has been reading it as I write and she is enjoying it. Which is not the norm for her, my writing is not her favorite and that’s ok but to see her excited about what I am working on is making me excited to finish it. The title is The Toymaker’s Curse, that is as much as I am revealing until the first draft is finished.

In other areas of my life I have just set up my new sewing machine. I picked up a fee things to make some teddy bears and rabbits for kids at my church and eventually to take some to the children’s hospital. Jess asked me to make her Prom dress so I need to get started on that soon. I want to have it finished by April but since it will be my first time making a dress without supervision from my amazingly talented mother I want to start early in case I mess up. Jess picked out the material and pattern and as soon as it’s done I will post pictures.

Book fair is going on at the local schools this week and next week which has my kids excited. It is something they look forward to every year. Wyatt came out of school yesterday telling me all about the books he wanted and then drawing the covers so I would know what they look like when I finally go to purchase books.

Exercising has been a part of nearly everyday. I had good intentions to get up and move every thirty minutes or hour. That stopped about a week or so into the new year. Here recently Jess has been exercising with me, she gets done with school at two in the afternoon so we have an hour before the boys get home. We use that time to exercise and talk. It’s really working too! I feel better and I have lost 7 pounds.

 

Hoe have the first two months of 2017 treated you?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A glimpse at 2017

  1. jeff7salter says:

    congratulations on sticking with the exercise… and it should be very helpful to have the support/participation of your daughter.
    That’s terrific that your daughter is enjoying this new ms. of yours. I hope your computer is back in operation soon (or replaced).
    My mom sewed — most of her own things and my sister’s clothing. Don’t recall that she sewed very much for me or my brother, however. My M-I-L was good enough at sewing that she made Denise’s wedding dress !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    January was rough for me, but February was awesome.
    You are VERY ambitious to tackle a prom dress as your first dress project. Hope she chose a simple pattern! I enjoy sewing – I can’t wait for spring break next week, because I have a lot of projects I want to finish, along with a book.
    As Jeff said, congrats on the exercise regimen and weight loss!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you, there are days I don’t want to exercise but if I skip it my legs feel twitchy at night and I have a hard time sleeping so I force myself to do it anyway.

      The pattern is a simple one. The one she was originally looking at was a vintage 1950s pattern but she decided to go with this one instead. The last dress I did was a little more complicated and my mom was there walking me through it while I did all the actual sewing. Really hoping this dress turns out.
      Glad to hear that February was a better month for you.

      Like

  3. I am truly impressed with all that you are accomplishing,Angie! I want to get back to sewing, but I would never do anything as ambitious as a prom dress…or a teddy bear.I made a few stuffed toys that were rather on the ‘flat’ side.
    7 lbs! I need to lose a lot more than that.After my back and knee troubles, I added back when I had lost. Yoga is out of the question now, so I am devising my own stretches. The treadmill is working well.
    If I write by longhand,I can’t figure out what I wrote! Best of luck to you. I am intrigued with your new story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

