No Clocks For Me…Kinda??

I do not live by the clock which is kind of odd because I absolutely love clocks and watches. When I was younger my dad had an in-home watch/clock repair shop. I loved sitting with him while he took apart clocks and watches and repaired them. The nights he would let me wind the antique pocket watches and polish them for him were the best. I always had watches. Sometimes it would be a wrist watch others it was a pocket watch. One birthday he gave me a wolf clock that howled on the hour. I adored it! I was so upset when my ex broke it just to spite me, and never could find one exactly like it. All of my children have watches, my middle child has several pocket watches which he switches out depending on what he is going to wear to school that day. He is probably most like me with his love of the timepiece.

With all of that said, I do not live my life on a schedule. I am a go-with-the-flow sort of person. When there are doctor appointments I make sure that I am early to them but I take along books and read while waiting so I don’t mind if the doctor is running late as long as it is not an overly long wait.

I make sure I pick my kids up from school on time, its easy to do that though. I have to leave my house by three to get there in time. My clock plays Amazing Grace on the hour, the church down the street from me chimes its bells every fifteen minutes so that helps me to not have to glance at the clock all the time.

I like having flexibility. I love that I can drop whatever I am doing and play games with my kids, have a dance party, or bake cookies. I can always work when they go to bed, and often do. The perks of working from home.

During the weekly sprints with one of my Facebook writing groups, I do set an alarm on my phone so I can be sure to join in on that. Otherwise I don’t let the clock dictate what I am to be doing.

Do you have a favorite clock or watch?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to No Clocks For Me…Kinda??

  1. jeff7salter says:

    funny that you’d focus on timePIECES in this topic. It reminds me of two timepieces that I valued (and hope they still exist).
    One was the clock on top of the piano in the home where I grew up. I’d have to look up clock shapes to tell you which one it was, but it was a wooden case, with a shape something like a Bell curve (on a graph). Don’t recall the maker or anything else, but it was the kind you have to wind.
    The other timepiece is my Grandfather’s gold watch. It was a Hamilton, I think. My mom said it cost $100 when Grandfather purchased it — probably in the 1930s (or maybe earlier). I guess that would be well over ten times that amount today, just counting inflation.
    I have not seen that watch in many years, but I’m pretty sure my mom still has it somewhere.
    My father-in-law was — in his final 30 years — a collector and repairer of clocks. From a kit, he made a beautiful wall clock with chimes for each of his daughters. The one he gave to my wife was an 8-day winder. It worked beautifully until a visitor messed with the pendulum. After that, it never ran right. We also have one of the free-standing clocks that my F-I-L sorta made, but sorta restored. The primary works, he repaired — and then he built a cabinet around it. You can tell it was built by a talented handyman, rather than a professional clock maker, but it’s still an excellent piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    As I mentioned on Monday, I’ve pretty much always lived by the clock, so we have one in every room of the house – some rooms have two or three, so we can see them wherever we happen to be seated. I always had one in my classroom, and at the university there’s a clock tower that chimes every quarter hour. At various times in my life I’ve had watches, but they never seemed to last long, or else I’d forget to wear them – until last year, when my husband got me an Apple Watch. Now it’s the first thing I put on in the morning and the last thing I take off at night. With this, I can check my email, send and receive texts, keep track of my exercising, check my heart rate, find out how cold it is outside, and talk on the phone. So I guess that’s my favorite time piece right now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, a clock/watch repair shop in your house! How cool! You’d think that broken clocks would drive me nuts, (as you’ll read on Friday), but I have several really cool ones that I can’t part with.
    I admire your freedom.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was pretty neat. He doesn’t work with them anymore because his hands are too shaky and his eye sight is not good enough to see all the tiny parts. He still has all his stuff and my kids have talked about maybe taking over someday. There is a school near here (about 2 hours) where they could gt a certificate in a year.

      Like

  4. Joselyn says:

    I only wear a watch when I’m running outside, otherwise I use my phone. I used to wear a watch all the time and felt freaky without it. I don’t remember why I stopped. Maybe it was when I stopped working outside the home.

    My parents had a grandfather clock and my dad’s Sunday ritual was winding it. It was the only time the front door on it was ever opened. My mom told me we couldn’t open it and touch the weights because they would turn into cottage cheese. I suspect that’s not entirely true. So yes, I do freak out when my kids go near it.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

