Fifty Favorites for 2017: Part Three

My list is short this time, because it’s only been two weeks since my last reading overview. Last week was spring break for all the colleges around here. Despite having a to-do list that covered an entire notebook page, I took the time to finish two books by women I know personally.

 

norsejewelNorse Jewel by Gina Conkle

Gina is a member of my local RWA chapter. She writes historical romances about Vikings as well as stories set in the English Georgian era. After reading some of her blog posts about research (including making Viking cheese!) I decided to read one of her Viking romances. I purchased Norse Jewel and read it on my Kindle app whenever I needed a break from writing or schoolwork. This is a gripping tale of betrayal, loyalty, and honor. I asked Gina to visit us the next time we have Guest Author week, so I’ll be able to share more!

 

Cowboys, Castles, and Cradles.jpgCowboys, Castles, and Cradles by Loralee Lillibridge

Loralee is another member of my local RWA chapter. She was my guest here at 4F1H almost two years ago with her first cozy mystery. With this new book, Loralee returns to her Texas roots. I started reading this on my phone while waiting for my husband at doctor appointments and finished it in the evenings this past week (when I should have been writing). Whit is a real hero in that he steps in to help when he sees it’s needed, but he’s also secure enough to listen to others. Gracie is a strong heroine – just the kind I love to read about! Can’t wait to see what Loralee comes up with next!

 

Our RWA chapter is quite prolific, so I plan to continue reading books by its members. I’ve already got my next reading projects all picked out!

About Patricia Kiyono

During her first career, Patricia Kiyono taught elementary music, computer classes, elementary classrooms, and junior high social studies. She now teaches music education at the university level. She lives in southwest Michigan with her husband, not far from her five children, nine grandchildren (so far), and great-granddaughters. Current interests, aside from writing, include sewing, crocheting, scrapbooking, and music. A love of travel and an interest in faraway people inspires her to create stories about different cultures. Check out her sweet historical contemporary romances at her Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Patricia-Kiyono/e/B0067PSM5C/
This entry was posted in Patricia Kiyono, romance, TBR List and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fifty Favorites for 2017: Part Three

  1. jeff7salter says:

    viking cheese? how on earth did Gina discover the food preparation processes in use 1500 years ago? Surely, she’s not a time traveler.
    Or is she?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Viking cheese sounds interesting. I’ve never read a Viking book but I think I’ll grab a copy of this one.

    Like

  3. Looks like you grabbed us all with the Viking Cheese, Patty! You must make sure that Gina talks about it!
    How nice to have chapter friends and support!

    Like

  4. Viking cheese seems to be a popular point on your blog, Patty. Thanks for the book mention. My quick answer to your questions came from research done by two archaeologists who focused on seven Viking settlements. I could wax long like a history nerd about specifics to each site, but the recipes are a mix of foods found at each site, grave finds, and a few medieval records that recounted foods from the VIking era.

    I did a series last summer on “How to Eat Like a Viking.” I grew veggies Vikings ate (kale was popular with the Northmen!). Then, I recreated Viking dishes similar to what the researchers describe in their book: mead, Viking cheese, bread in a bag, fish meals, etc.

    Here is on of my adventures…making Viking cheese (it’s like crumbly mozzarella): http://ginaconkle.com/how-to-eat-like-a-viking-its-in-the-cheese-by-gina-conkle/

    Thanks again for hosting me Patty!
    Gina

    Liked by 2 people

  5. lilli530 says:

    Thank so much, Patty.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joselyn says:

    The Viking story sounds interesting. I’ve watched a couple documentaries about them recently. They aren’t quite like we picture them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

