the crafting bug

Between Spring Break this week, a nasty cold hitting the house, and an injury to my shoulder I am running a little behind on everything this week. So sorry for posting a bit late today.

Here recently the crafting bug has hit me. My Pinterest is filled with things I want to make for my house and to give as gifts. I would love to give me daughter a cozy, girly bedroom. When we moved she volunteered for the smallest bedroom. But she has more stuff then Quin who is across the hall. I think she took that to because it was the ONLY room with a little shelf. Quickly, she filled it with her books stacking them three deep. Books fill her nightstand and pour over to her dresser. My first project for her room is going to be a trundle bookcase. There just isn’t space for her to have a bookcase so I am going to put one on wheels under her bed. I showed it to her and she got excited but I am not doing that until I surprise her with the daybed she always wanted. She said she doesn’t need extra seating if she has a day bed and several pillows.

The next things requires a trip or two to some thrift stores searching for tea cups and saucers. I found this amazing bedside lamp that I am going to try to make. I plan to make two, one for my office and one for my daughter’s room. There are also plans to make candles and a few decorative displays as well as pin cushions all with tea cups! I’ll leave the link to my craft board on Pinterest in case you want to check out my inspirations since for some reason I can’t upload the pictures today.

 

The last project is also using a tea cup. My childhood home is surrounded by trees. Last week there was a tornado and my mom’s favorite birds feeder was thrown across the yard and shattered. (Thankfully, there wasn’t more damage than limbs going down and some damage to the garage, everyone is safe). To replace the bird feeder I am going to make one out of a tea cup, perhaps I’ll make two so she can put nectar in one for her hummingbirds.

 

Do you enjoy crafting? Is there anything that you’ve seen and wanted to make (or have someone else make for you)?

 

Pinterest link. I thought you’d like this Board on Pinterest… http://pin.it/w4h4Vq6

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to the crafting bug

  1. jeff7salter says:

    sounds very industrious. I’m sure your daughter will enjoy what you can find or build.
    I have (in the past) enjoyed making things and assembling things (like chairs and tables). But in recent years, I don’t have the energy and wherewithall. Not to mention the space. And, despite being retired, I find my time just evaporates!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I understand about time disappearing. I tend to have lofty goals for what to make for people then the time slips away. So this year I decided to make things throughout the year. I have a large basement where I can store/hide gifts I’ve made. I am lucky to have children who request homemade items, I think they like having things that can’t be found in the store.

      Like

  2. I just LOVE the trundle book rack, Angie! How wonderful.I wish you luck.
    I do enjoy crafting.I had gotten so busy and the place so crowded that I could not even find much of my crafting supplies.I gave a lot of them away since I know that either room, time or health will not let me get to all that I had planned.I’d like others to enjoy the supplies and plans.
    I hope you post pictures of all of your works.Did you see the teacup/pot dollhouse I shared on my Facebook page today? I think you’d love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was about to give away a lot of my stuff because it was cluttering the apartment but when we found this house I took it all down to the huge basement. I’m so glad I hadn’t donated it to Goodwill yet.

      I’ll have to stop over on Facebook and look for that post.

      Like

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Love your Pinterest board! I also have one called “Too Many Crafts, Not Enough Time.” I really enjoy crafting, but often I have to schedule time to do it. I agree with Tonette – hope you post pictures when you’re done!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I will be sure to post pictures.
      We’re hitting the thrift stores next week. I can’t wait to see what we find.
      I’ll have to check out your board you always make such pretty things so I am sure you found a lot of amazing stuff to pin.

      Like

  4. Joselyn says:

    I love the trundle book shelf. What a great space saving idea, with the possible added bonus of keeping toys and dirty laundry from being shoved under the bed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

