GW2+H=Fun 4 T

Not algebra, just the famous people who would equal fun for me.

The prompt this week on 4F,1H is the idea that we are stuck in a mini-van for a very long trip, not doing the driving ourselves. What three companions [living or deceased] would we want with us?

My first thought is that I’d take my husband. He’s a lot of fun on a trip and we enjoy many of the same things and places.

I’d like to say that if I am traveling to a family reunion, it would be nice to have a couple of older family members along, but some of my older family members were not easy people with which to share a long ride! And I say a few, because the more family members with whom I discuss stories of the past that have been told to me, I see that others have had different viewpoints of the same people or events.

Do any of us know the real stories and reasons behind other people’s actions? I doubt it.
Sometimes we don’t even know why we do things ourselves.

Have you fallen asleep yet?

We could get really serious with this but I am looking for fun. So, if we were taking a trip through the northeastern part of the U.S., I’m going to put George Washington in the car. Imagine hearing what he had seen, where he had been and what he was thinking at the time. Besides, George could always find a place for us to stop, huh? He stayed in so many places before! I think he’s make a great companion no matter where we went. He was supposed to be very charming and he had a keen mind. In fact, I think I’d enjoy showing Arizona to him.

Since we have now decided to travel out west, the skies will be clear and I’d like to have Edwin Hubble, the astronomer, along. He could tell us all about the heavenly bodies, and I have read that he was also great guy. A Rhodes Scholar who studied law to please his father, he went on to become a well-liked teacher who taught Spanish and physics, and he coached the basketball team, as well. He then entered graduate school to pursue his passion for science. As soon as he received his Ph.D., he enlisted in the Infantry, feeling the need to serve in WWI, and only then returned to his great work in science, (such as the discovery that stellar nebulae are solar systems and that the universe is expanding). Sounds like a well-rounded fellow to me!

I was thinking of taking a naturalist or botanist along and I considered taking Beatrix Potter; bet you didn’t know that she had a prosperous farm and was strong into land conservation. I also bet you didn’t know that she studied flora and was considered an expert in mushrooms and other fungi. But that was in Scotland and England. I also considered Gregor Mendel, but since I doubt any of us spoke enough German to make a go of it, I am opting for another George WashingtonCarver; he wasn’t just about peanuts, you know. Here are some quotes from him:

Reading about nature is fine, but if a person walks in the woods and listens carefully, he can learn more than what is in books, for they speak with the voice of God.

No individual has any right to come into the world and go out of it without leaving behind him distinct and legitimate reasons for having passed through it.

How far you go in life depends on your being tender with the young, compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving and tolerant of the weak and strong. Because someday in your life you will have been all of these.

Our creator is the same and never changes despite the names given Him by people here and in all parts of the world. Even if we gave Him no name at all, He would still be there, within us, waiting to give us good on this earth.

Anything will give up its secrets if you love it enough. Not only have I found that when I talk to the little flower or to the little peanut they will give up their secrets, but I have found that when I silently commune with people, they give up their secrets also – if you love them enough.

(But I hope we’d talk!)

Never let anyone tell you that faith and science are at odds; it only shows their ignorance, no matter how many initials they have after their names. Mendel and Carver would tell you the same, as would Pasteur and Galileo, among many others… Einstein had faith in God.

There we are, and I am really sorry that I won’t be taking this trip…but maybe I will, in Heaven.

What do you think of my crew? Did you learn anything new ?

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in big plans, characters, experiences, Family, helping others, Life, Tonette Joyce, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to GW2+H=Fun 4 T

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Excellent choices. Though, with my density about science, I think I’d skip on Hubbel.
    Yeah, Geo Wash. slept all over the place… so you’d be good in almost any hamlet up and down the eastern seacoast.
    I’m a big fan of Carver. I love the quotes you selected of his.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Edwin Hubble’s H.S. students dedicated their yearbook to him, so I think he could simplify his conversation to suit us, Jeff!
      George may or may not have stayed in an inn that is in my town, but everyone likes to claim him!
      I knew there was much more to G.W. Carver than his many uses for peanuts, (which wasn’t ‘peanuts’; it was fro economic reasons), but I really did not know the depths of his understanding of faith and human nature until I looked into him for this post.

      Like

  2. What a great list! I knew about Beatrix Potter but had no clue who Edwin Hubble was (beyond his name). They all sound like They would be interesting to have on a trip and that they could teach a person a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Angie, exactly! Now, I really made myself jealous of the would-be trip! I did not know that much about Hubble, either.My first thought was for a fellow who used to do a show on astronomy, but I found that he had fallen into great disrespect before he passed away, so I went looking for someone else.I am glad I learned all I did about Dr. Hubble.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Joselyn says:

    Loved your comments about George Washington. Your discussion of various scientists is making me think of some others who I would like to travel with, although it would have to be a hiking trip. I would love to go on a hiking trip with a learned geologist, especially around Yellowstone or Glacier National Park. Given the topic of my current work in progress, it might be fun to take a hike with Dr. Jeff Meldrum, a well-known bigfoot researcher. It might be… seeing a real bigfoot might be too scary for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeff7salter says:

      if I ever encounter a real Sasquatch, I’d want him to be good-natured, like Harry and the Hendersons.

      Like

      • I am not up to hiking anymore, Joselyn.I used to love to watch NatureScene on PBS where the naturalist went to the big parks around the country with the host and spoke about what they encountered. I would have loved to have been on those trips. However, with the vast knowledge, experiences and personalities of Hubble and Carver, I think we could handle long stretches of road while learning a great deal.Besides, we’d get out at interesting points!

        Like

      • I think Sasquatches have more to fear from humans than we would from them, Jeff and Joselyn.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Great choices! Joselyn has a good point. The scientists would be fascinating on a walking trip – so if I were to take a road trip with them it would need to be to a place where we could roam around and I could soak in all their awesome knowledge. But I really wouldn’t need to go far – there’s a lot of nature to see here around the Great Lakes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have every intention of stopping to literally smell the roses, (wild ones!) and gaze at the stars, but even so, think of the men I chose! They have a lot to talk about and both were very much ‘people persons!

      Like

Leave a Reply

