Book Discussions

This month I am one of three people hosting a book discussion in Wendy Knight’s Winged Ones on Facebook. We’re reading Wendy’s Banshee at the Gate which is a fun middle grade book about a hybrid Banshee who is trying to save her brother’s life as well as save Atlantis. This is my third time reading the book and I love It. I am sure I’ll be reading it to Wyatt sometime soon as well.

I have never belonged to a book club, never really discussed books with others in a structured way. In the past I have led Q&A sessions with authors where we ask the author questions about the book and their writing process but never me trying to open up a discussion about the book.

Since our discussion is broken down to just a few chapters every couple of days it is easier for everyone to participate. Today we’re talking about chapters 7 and 8. My first question was about Sevens developing powers and which one the reader thinks might come in as throat useful.

 

Have you ever been in a book club or discussion group? Do you have any advice for me about what sort of questions might spark more interaction? Are book discussions something you enjoy?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Book Discussions

  1. jeff7salter says:

    I don’t believe I’ve ever belonged to a group that reads a particular book and then meets to discuss it. I have, however, been on the fringes of such activities. In the public library, during my last few years (before retirement) there was an effort (nation-wide, I think) for communities to select a book and then bring people together to discuss it with a moderator / facilitator from the library staff. I think it was pretty popular.
    My sense about organizations like this is a (probably unfounded) worry that they’d always select a book I didn’t really want to read, or that I’d been in a group with a know-it-all loud-mouth who would never shut up.
    All that said, before my freshman year at Mercer Univ. (GA), all entering students were required to read one of Faulker’s novels — I think it was Sartoris — and one of the first things we did, after we registered, of course, was to assemble in enough classrooms to hold everybody. In each of those, a student (upper-classman) facilitator led a discussion.
    I had not really liked the book and it was an ordeal to finish it. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • I recently saw a movie that had a book club scene and sure enough it had that obnoxious person who acted like they knew everything and she wouldn’t let anyone else talk.

      I worry that while I read for enjoyment I might come across people who look for deeper, hidden meanings while I am only reading for enjoyment.

      Liked by 2 people

      • jeff7salter says:

        or… vice versa. Let’s say you find some particularly meaningful thread you want to explore, but most of the others (at least those who are vocal) insist on rushing through to get finished on time.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I haven’t ever belonged to a book club. Our library hosts book discussions each month on a chosen book, and I was never able to fit the meeting time into my schedule – much less read the book.
    If you’re reading for enjoyment, I suppose one of your staple questions might be “What did you enjoy about this chapter?”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have never joined a book club. As we have discussed her,I do read books with family members and we discuss them.
    I have found that seldom do the choices of clubs match my own, and I consider that a bit of a waste, given how little free time I have had. I looked into a few, even one that was televised, and I really wasn’t keen on where the discussions were going. I also know that I would not have patience with those who were not picking up on ideas, themes, etc. Of course, you have those who read too much into things, as well!
    I would think that you could use those ideas in questions if you have the fortitude: Why do you think the main character’s friend did whatever? Do you think that the main character reacted that way because of something in his past?
    I hope you get a lot out of it.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

