Living Up in the Trees

In a Tree House… Above all the Strife

By Jeff Salter

I’ve always loved tree houses and (since childhood) I’ve dreamed of living up in the trees. Well, I never actually made that goal, but I did manage to write a novel in which the heroine does… and she’s an architect who designed the three tier facility herself. She figures she’ll be above all the strife of the earth-bound folks. Maybe she ought to re-think that…

Stuck on Cloud-8-front-final

Stuck on Cloud Eight

Now that Keri lives in her own tree house…it’s No Men Allowed.  Romantic comedy that’s high in the sky. Novel, only $3.99 in digital formats; paperback also available (varied pricing). TouchPoint Press, 2015.

http://tinyurl.com/SoC8-JLS

BLURB

Since Keri Winter’s tomboy childhood dream had been to one day possess her own tree house, it does not bother her one bit to be known as Tarzana after she actually builds her home in a tree.

With a steady job she enjoys, Keri invests most of her late mother’s insurance policy into the design and construction of the only inhabitable tree house in Greene County. The house is a marvel, both in its construction and everyday operation, and attracts significant attention. So does its only occupant.

But most of the young men in town hold no interest for her at all. In fact, she seems pretty unapproachable – literally and figuratively – with her head up in the clouds. It would take a mighty tall man to reach Keri’s level and attract her romantic interest.

And even if the right man could reach her, would Keri trust him?

Rusty Battle figures he’s got the right stuff, but in order to prove it, he has to get Keri’s attention.

They’re about to learn proximity can sometimes make the heart grow fonder…or it just might drive Keri crazy.

It’s difficult enough to get to know someone on even ground. Can she start over at a higher level?

Question:

Have you ever wanted to live in a tree house?  What basic design would you want?

[ JLS # 327 ]

About jeff7salter

Currently writing romantic comedy, screwball comedy, and romantic suspense. Twelve completed novels and five completed novellas. Working with three royalty publishers: Clean Reads, Dingbat Publishing, & TouchPoint Press/Romance. "Size Matters" -- Oct. 2016 "The Duchess of Earl" -- Jul. 2016 "Stuck on Cloud Eight" -- Nov. 2015, "Pleased to Meet Me" (novella) -- Oct. 2015, "One Simple Favor" (novella) -- May 2015, "The Ghostess & MISTER Muir" -- Oct. 2014, "Scratching the Seven-Month Itch" -- Sept. 2014, "Hid Wounded Reb" -- Aug. 2014, "Don't Bet On It" (novella) -- April 2014, "Curing the Uncommon Man-Cold -- Dec. 2013, "Echo Taps" (novella) -- June 2013, "Called To Arms Again" -- (a tribute to the greatest generation) -- May 2013, "Rescued By That New Guy in Town" -- Oct. 2012, "The Overnighter's Secrets" -- May 2012. Co-authored two non-fiction books about librarianship (with a royalty publisher), a chapter in another book, and an article in a specialty encyclopedia. Plus several library-related articles and reviews. Also published some 120 poems, about 150 bylined newspaper articles, and some 100 bylined photos. Worked about 30 years in librarianship. Formerly newspaper editor and photo-journalist. Decorated veteran of U.S. Air Force (including a remote ‘tour’ of duty in the Arctic … at Thule AB in N.W. Greenland). Married; father of two; grandfather of six.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Living Up in the Trees

  1. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I can’t say I’ve ever wanted to LIVE in one, but I’ve definitely wished I had a place I could escape from daily responsibilities. A totally inhabitable treehouse sounds like a dream. It would definitely make the perfect writer’s retreat – except in the dead of a Michigan winter.

    Liked by 2 people

    • jeff7salter says:

      absolutely right, Patty. NOT the place to live in extreme weather.
      However, my heroine lives in fictional Verdeville TN, just east of Nashville. So the winters are comparatively mild. And in the summertime, she has all those cross breezes!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Never had a tree house, but I would have loved one. My boys were about the right age for one when we moved into a real house of our own but my husband is not a handyman and I knew I could not do one myself. I always hoped I could get my sons to use our big white pine tree and put one in for their kids,but between them being overseas, in school and/or working more than one job, it never came to be.Fortunately, that pine has many very wide, thick branches with 40-45 degree angles and the kids spent many hours in the tree anyway.
    BTW, the kids’ book, “Our Tree Named Steve”, is a great tree/tree house story. I read it at my grandkids’ school then sent for my own copy…MY own copy.
    “Stuck on Cloud Eight” is on my Kindle and in my queue.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeff7salter says:

      As kids, growing up, my brother started building a tree house in the back yard.
      But with the lack of proper tools, the shortage of building materials, and ZERO budget for the operation, it sadly remained unfinished.
      And that’s a shame, because it had a great design. Wish we could go back briefly to that period and let my brother have the $$, lumber, fixtures, tools, etc. Oh, well…

      Like

  3. First, I really enjoyed this book.

    Second, I can’t recall ever wanting to live in a tree house when I was younger despite spending a lot of time in trees. Though the idea of a dugout briefly appealed to me while I read On the Banks of Plum Creek.
    Recently, I saw one of those house hunting shows where they buy fixer uppers and there was a nice tree house. It was all one level and octagonal shaped. It looked cute, I thought it would be a nice writers retreat/office but with the lack of plumbing I think I’d have wanted a little cottage nearby for living in.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

