Young at Heart (and I Hope I Always Will Be)

One of our foxes asked, “What would your theme song be for this year?”

I struggled with this for a while. There are so many songs I enjoy listening to, but none of the current popular hits (at least on the stations I listen to) echo what I feel represents my life. So I did what I usually do when I’m stumped; I looked it up. Isn’t the internet wonderful?

I asked my favorite search engine to show me songs that cover my current life goals and attitudes. This is a rather pivotal year for me. I am now old enough to qualify for Social Security benefits. My youngest child will be 30 this summer. My youngest grandchild started school. All of these milestones make me feel rather old. But I don’t feel old. I’m still young and healthy enough to do a lot of things: volunteer with a few sewing groups, perform in musical groups, take care of grandkids, and of course, write books. I also tend to be quite happy with my life and optimistic that things will work out. So my keywords were reaching goals, and optimism. I found quite a list, and I spent some time listening and reading the lyrics – since I often don’t correctly hear what’s sung.

Although it’s an old classic, I’ve decided that “Young at Heart” works well for me. The song projects an optimism that I strive for. If you’re not familiar with the song, here are the lyrics:

Fairy tales can come true
It can happen to you if you’re young at heart
For it’s hard, you will find
To be narrow of mind if you’re young at heart

You can go to extremes with impossible schemes
You can laugh when your dreams fall apart at the seams
And life gets more exciting with each passing day
And love is either in your heart or on it’s way

Don’t you know that it’s worth
Every treasure on earth to be young at heart
For as rich as you are
It’s much better by far to be young at heart

And if you should survive to a hundred and five
Look at all you’ll derive out of bein’ alive
And here is the best part, you have a head start
If you are among the very young at heart

And if you should survive to a hundred and five
Look at all you’ll derive out of bein’ alive
And here is the best part, you have a head start
If you are among the very young at heart

The song was sung in the movie of the same name by Frank Sinatra, and Jimmy Durante also recorded it. Michael Bublé does a nice cover, but I’ll share Frank’s version from the original soundtrack:

About Patricia Kiyono

During her first career, Patricia Kiyono taught elementary music, computer classes, elementary classrooms, and junior high social studies. She now teaches music education at the university level. She lives in southwest Michigan with her husband, not far from her five children, nine grandchildren (so far), and great-granddaughters. Current interests, aside from writing, include sewing, crocheting, scrapbooking, and music. A love of travel and an interest in faraway people inspires her to create stories about different cultures. Check out her sweet historical contemporary romances at her Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Patricia-Kiyono/e/B0067PSM5C/
This entry was posted in Life, Patricia Kiyono, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Young at Heart (and I Hope I Always Will Be)

  1. I’m a huge Bing Crosby fan so this song is very familiar. It’s a wonderful song and I think a makes a great theme song.

    Like

  2. kathleenbee says:

    What a lovely song! Your attitude is an inspiration, Patty.

    Like

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      Thank you so much! I guess I’ve always been an optimist. And my parents did an awesome job of encouraging me.

      Like

  3. Joselyn says:

    It’s a very uplifting song. Great choice!

    Like

  4. Everyone who knows me knows that I was raised on Frank Sinatra. I know the movie by that title that HE starred in, but not one with Bing. (Doris Day was his leading lady, Gig Young, Ethel Barrymore, beautiful Dorothy Malone and a young “Skipper”,Alan Hale, it, played her husband.).
    I already have the song stuck in my head… Frank’s version, of course!

    Like

    • Patricia Kiyono says:

      I don’t know why I typed Bing’s name when I knew darned well it was Frank. I’ve edited the post. Anyway, I remember hearing the song when I was young, so when I saw it on the list I had to listen to it again.

      Like

      • Oh, gosh, here I was going to go looking for another movie with the same name! I have not heard the song in a number of years, but I can tell you right now, I know all the words!

        Like

  5. jeff7salter says:

    exellcent choice, Patty. This could be another week when I just post in my Thursday column a sign saying, “Just read Pattye’s blog from Monday.”:
    Who wrote the lyrics to this song?

    Like

Leave a Reply

