Musical motivation

When I first thought about this topic, I was looking for the song that best described my year so far.

While feeling better than last year–months of which I would describe as hanging from a cliff with people stamping on my fingers–I still fear that cliff and worry about getting too close to the edge.

This year has been about staying away from the edge and trying to keep the portions on my plate to the recommended daily allowances. Or at least balancing them with what I need to recooperate–so a long day of out-of-state doctors’ appointments must be followed by a day completely off. As you can imagine, it often doesn’t work that way. Days like that will often be followed by texts or calls complaining about what I’m not doing.

So the appropriate song seemed to be “Ain’t Killed Me Yet” by Eric Church.
https://youtu.be/8K3UT2CEFb0

It’s not a one-to-one comparison but the chorus certainly resonates. This song plays for two of my daily reminders, just because this struggle “ain’t killed me yet.”

However, as a theme for the year, I would prefer something more positive, something to focus on as a mantra or a piece of encouragement. For that I’ll go with my wake up song “All the People Said Amen” by Matt Maher

It’s a good reminder that I’m not alone and that I have God to depend on when I feel like my fingers are sliding off the cliff.

What song builds up your spirits?

About Joselyn

SAHM writing romance with at a case of the giggles. Former librarian. Avid reader. Runner.
This entry was posted in Joselyn Vaughn, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Musical motivation

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Love the Matt Maher song. Thanks for sharing.
    Sounds like you’ve had a pretty rough time over the past dozen months or so.
    Lifting you up on my prayers. May God bless you and your family… and all your other concerns and responsibilities.

    Like

  2. I’d never heard either song before.

    I listen to Celtic music when I need some cheer. My youngest calls Concerning Hobbits from The Lord of the Rings soundtrack my happy song.

    Like

  3. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I think any parent can identify with “Ain’t Killed Me Yet.” But I’m glad you went with a more uplifting theme song! Things really do calm down after a while.

    Like

  4. God bless, my Dear! Life can throw some of us major hardships, but I have found with a sense of humor, it makes it easier to bear. I wish you a better year; you deserve it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

