Might Not Be My Theme Song

But Maybe It Ought to Be My Goal

[Gonna Build A Mountain]

By Jeff Salter

Not really sure I have a theme song for this year. I’ve spent three days this week mulling over this topic and my first thoughts went back to my high school graduation “senior song” — The Impossible Dream. I still like those lyrics and music, and next year will be my 50th anniversary of singing it (in the choral group) for the Commencement Exercises. But it’s probably not really my theme song.

From that same general time frame, here are two songs which I loved and which might have well have been “themes” of my mindset at that point: “Born to Be Wild” by Steppenwolf and “We Gotta Get Out of This Place” by the Animals. LOL… if you could see me now.

Then I started thinking of my FAVORITE songs — a somewhat related approach, but clearly not the assigned topic. I have scads of favorite popular tunes, mostly from the late 1950s through the early 1970s. Quite a few from the Beatles, of course. [One example is Penny Lane.] But none are really theme songs for a particular year.

Others of my favorites would be several in the patriotic vein, especially songs like God Bless the USA, by Lee Greenwood. But that’s not really a theme song either.

I have numerous favorites from the standard Protestant hymnals, and one of these which really stands out is Because He Lives. That’s a theme song of sorts, but probably also sidesteps the assigned topic. But since I’ve already mentioned it, here’s the chorus, which packs the main punch:
Because He lives, I can face tomorrow
Because He lives, all fear is gone
Because I know He holds the future
And life is worth the living, just because He lives

Back to the Topic

Bear with me — I had to guide y’all along that garden path to reach the right spot. As far as “theme songs” one of the first that popped into my head – speaking as a full-time author who’s been writing almost my entire life but has not yet reached the ‘A’ List – is that you’ve gotta have heart.

Take a listen to this rousing song from Damn Yankees:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ry8CpIg2fvU

And a variation on that same theme is this fine lyric by Anthony Newley. In fact, I’m officially declaring this is my theme song!

Matterhorn

Gonna Build A Mountain
[Lyrics abridged]

I’m gonna build a mountain, from a little hill.
I’m gonna build a mountain, least I hope I will.
I’m gonna build a mountain, I’m gonna build it high.
I don’t know how I’m gonna do it, only know I’m gonna try.

I’m gonna build a daydream, from a little hope.
I’m gonna push the daydream, up that mountain slope.
I’m gonna build a daydream, woah, I’m gonna see it through.
Gonna build a mountain and a daydream,
Gonna make ’em both come true.

I want to build a heaven, as a will someday,
And the Lord sends Ga-bri-el to take me away.
Woah, I want to fine young son, to take my place.
I’ll leave my son in my heaven on earth with the good Lord’s grace.

I’m gonna build a mountain, from a little hill.
I’m gonna build a mountain, least I hope I will.
I’m gonna build a mountain, yeah, gonna see it through.

Songwriters: Leslie Bricusse, Anthony Newley
Published By: LYRICS © T.R.O. INC.

This is Matt Munro’s rendition:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vKl_p6d0nCk

Question:
What might YOUR theme song be for this year?

[JLS # 330]

About jeff7salter

Currently writing romantic comedy, screwball comedy, and romantic suspense. Twelve completed novels and five completed novellas. Working with three royalty publishers: Clean Reads, Dingbat Publishing, & TouchPoint Press/Romance. "Size Matters" -- Oct. 2016 "The Duchess of Earl" -- Jul. 2016 "Stuck on Cloud Eight" -- Nov. 2015, "Pleased to Meet Me" (novella) -- Oct. 2015, "One Simple Favor" (novella) -- May 2015, "The Ghostess & MISTER Muir" -- Oct. 2014, "Scratching the Seven-Month Itch" -- Sept. 2014, "Hid Wounded Reb" -- Aug. 2014, "Don't Bet On It" (novella) -- April 2014, "Curing the Uncommon Man-Cold -- Dec. 2013, "Echo Taps" (novella) -- June 2013, "Called To Arms Again" -- (a tribute to the greatest generation) -- May 2013, "Rescued By That New Guy in Town" -- Oct. 2012, "The Overnighter's Secrets" -- May 2012. Co-authored two non-fiction books about librarianship (with a royalty publisher), a chapter in another book, and an article in a specialty encyclopedia. Plus several library-related articles and reviews. Also published some 120 poems, about 150 bylined newspaper articles, and some 100 bylined photos. Worked about 30 years in librarianship. Formerly newspaper editor and photo-journalist. Decorated veteran of U.S. Air Force (including a remote ‘tour’ of duty in the Arctic … at Thule AB in N.W. Greenland). Married; father of two; grandfather of six.
This entry was posted in author's life, big plans, childhood, favorites, goals, inspiration, Jeff Salter, publishing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Might Not Be My Theme Song

  1. jeff7salter says:

    [By the way, when I asked my wife to name a theme song for this blog, she immediately replied, “Yesterday” by the Beatles — and she’s not even a diehard Beatles fan!] But I think that’s an excellent choice… and one of my favorite Beatles’ songs.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. jbrayweber says:

    Having a strong connection to music, I have many, many, MANY favorite songs. I have songs for moods, songs for people, songs for memories, songs for my books…you get the idea.

    My theme song, though, for being an author is likely one you don’t know, assuming we don’t listen to the same types of music.

    Shinedown
    Breaking Inside

    Great post, Jeff!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeff7salter says:

      You’re right, Jenn — I’ve never heard of these guys. But I’ll admit it’s a catchy, almost heavy metal sound. One of those bridges in the opening scenes looked familiar. Are these guys from Texas?

      Liked by 1 person

      • jbrayweber says:

        No, there from Florida. They’re pretty huge in the rock/metal/alternative world and one of my all-time favorites. The vocalist is crazy talented and the songwriting is amazing. I’m not sure where the video was taken. Maybe Louisiana. Definitely some place in the South.

        Liked by 1 person

      • jeff7salter says:

        I’ve crossed the Mississippi River in several cities, and this looks like some of those bridges.

        Like

  3. I like the song you picked in the end. It seems like a great song, those lyrics are fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have a number of songs that passed through my mind and those of my niece and husband’s, and they will be up tomorrow. I like so many songs and you had good choices, but to find those fitting the year? Good job.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Joselyn says:

    I like the bubbly music. You can picture someone dancing along to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Patricia Kiyono says:

    “Gonna Build a Mountain” is a great song, and it makes a good theme – although the musical it came from (Stop the World, I Want to Get Off) has some themes I’m sure you WOULDN’T want to adopt! Love the Sammy Davis Jr. version.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeff7salter says:

      I knew it was written for a Broadway show, but didn’t know which play.
      I’ve just never been a fan of Sammy’s singing. He’s had a few dramatic roles I’ve thought were good, though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

