One Whole Hour Extra

Gosh, What Would I Do With an Extra 60 Minutes?

By Jeff Salter

As has occasionally happened here at 4F1H, I find myself with a different interpretation of the scheduled topic. Where some of the resident Foxes viewed this assignment as having an extra hour EACH day, I understood it to mean an extra hour on one particular day.

Even so, I’ll answer it both ways. What a team player! Ha!

one-hour

Extra Hour EACH Day

I have many interests and/or hobbies that languish because I no longer seem to have time for them. Among these are things I’ve collected (e.g., books, comics, coins, and militaria) that I need space and concentration and time… to organize and catalog and appraise.

There are numerous household chores and/or projects which have fallen to one side because I can’t seem to find time to deal with them properly. Among these are:
* sorting through the storage room, organizing what I really want to keep, and getting rid of stuff I no longer use or no longer have time for
* cleaning out the upstairs garage (again!) and reorganizing my work/project space
* straightening and organizing my study (where I write)

There are belongings (including old clothing) that I hardly ever use (or wear) which are just taking up space and (presumably) could be useful to someone else… if only I could carve out the considerable time and space (and energy) to go through them and actually get them out of the house (and to a donation center).

I have boxes full of VHS tapes – about half I purchased, but half I recorded from TV – of movies and television shows… which I really would like to watch some day. It’s a shame to let that entire format of technology just pass me by without me having ever even viewed most of the programming thereon.

I have a Kindle full of E-books – not to mention (literal) stacks of “real” books – which I’d like just to sit down and read — with no guilt that I really ought to be doing something else more visibly “productive.”

Extra Hour on ONE Particular Day

It would be awesome if the Good Lord walked up to me one day and said, “Jeff, you’ve been such a stalwart citizen that today you’ll have twenty-FIVE hours to deal with. Hope you enjoy that extra sixty minutes. Now, what you intend to do with it?”

Oh, I’d be tempted to start one of those exhausting, labor-intensive, and time-consuming projects I’ve mentioned above. But, to be perfectly honest, if I did get one extra hour, I’d probably just read part of a book, watch part of a movie (on TV), or – better yet – lie down and take part of a long nap.

Question:

What would YOU do if you had an extra hour EVERY day? What would you do with one special extra hour on ONE particular day?

[JLS # 331]

About jeff7salter

Currently writing romantic comedy, screwball comedy, and romantic suspense. Twelve completed novels and five completed novellas. Working with three royalty publishers: Clean Reads, Dingbat Publishing, & TouchPoint Press/Romance. "Size Matters" -- Oct. 2016 "The Duchess of Earl" -- Jul. 2016 "Stuck on Cloud Eight" -- Nov. 2015, "Pleased to Meet Me" (novella) -- Oct. 2015, "One Simple Favor" (novella) -- May 2015, "The Ghostess & MISTER Muir" -- Oct. 2014, "Scratching the Seven-Month Itch" -- Sept. 2014, "Hid Wounded Reb" -- Aug. 2014, "Don't Bet On It" (novella) -- April 2014, "Curing the Uncommon Man-Cold -- Dec. 2013, "Echo Taps" (novella) -- June 2013, "Called To Arms Again" -- (a tribute to the greatest generation) -- May 2013, "Rescued By That New Guy in Town" -- Oct. 2012, "The Overnighter's Secrets" -- May 2012. Co-authored two non-fiction books about librarianship (with a royalty publisher), a chapter in another book, and an article in a specialty encyclopedia. Plus several library-related articles and reviews. Also published some 120 poems, about 150 bylined newspaper articles, and some 100 bylined photos. Worked about 30 years in librarianship. Formerly newspaper editor and photo-journalist. Decorated veteran of U.S. Air Force (including a remote ‘tour’ of duty in the Arctic … at Thule AB in N.W. Greenland). Married; father of two; grandfather of six.
This entry was posted in author's life, Daily life, Fantasy vs Reality, hobbies, Jeff Salter, Life, movies, reading, TBR List, Uncategorized, What if and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to One Whole Hour Extra

  1. jbrayweber says:

    Being a mother, wife, volunteer, author, editor, friend, marketer, and so on and so forth, there is never enough time in the day. And since I’m usually drowning in work, chores, obligations, and generally playing catch-up, that hour would be absorbed easily. And really, sixty minutes isn’t that long. That’s the reality.

    But if I could do something else with that time, I’d like to read a book from my ever-growing TBR pile or take a nap. Yeeeaah…a nap…

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I’ve already addressed what I’d do with an hour each day, but if it was only for one day I’d probably nap – so that I’d have more energy to keep on trucking!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I thought napping might make it on your list.

    If I had one extra hour on a special day I would probably spend it with my kids in my parent’s yard. We have been wanting to get a large canvas, fill up balloons with paint, tape the balloons on the canvas, then toss darts at it. It sounds like fun but we never have had the time to actually do it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ah, the VHS dilemma! Most of the things I recorded deteriorated before I could view or use them; I chucked those. We still have two functioning VHS players and I have kept many movies, but they, too, deteriorate. I have given many away…along with many clothes, but more need to go, as I saw just before sitting down to the computer. ( I needed to pull out some warm-weather clothes. It was quite warm today.)
    We have a loot in common.
    My thoughts tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeff7salter says:

      yeah, I worry that my VHS collection is already lost or degraded. I keep seeing these ads for kits to convert them to digital format. But I certainly don’t have the thousand hours available to run them all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

