Confidentially, I Am Comfortable

Apparelly,(!), I suggested this week’s topic. “What Is Your Most Comfortable Piece of Clothing”, but I think we may have covered this years ago, with other Foxes.

Only one piece?

First, I have to say that I am not a slave to fashion, but I do like to look good. You will never find me in something that is too “In”. I never rushed out for the biggest craze even when I was young. I have always preferred classic lines and that is more important to me now than ever. Nothing makes me cringe more than a woman wearing something that is obviously too young for her, thinking that she looks youthful because she thinks she looks ‘stylish’. That always backfires.

But back to comfort. I live in ballet-style slippers most of the year when I am home. I prefer the expensive leather-soled ones that are impractical for dashing outside, but they are Heavenly on my feet. I wore uncomfortable shoes on a walking tour of Washington, DC with a young man when I was 16; my big toenails turned black and swelled. I vowed never to wear uncomfortable shoes again. I have searched far and hard for the ultimate shoes: stylish, comfortable and affordable, and I have succeeded until recently. (I found heels that I could run in, honestly.) I hate a few of the pairs that I have broken down and bought in the last few years, even if they are comfortable. (I just don’t get to do the kind of shopping I used to.)

I seem to be the only woman in the world who finds panty hose comfortable. I wear them with dresses, skirts, and under slacks when the weather is cool.

I have a couple of loose-fitting, (but good-looking), dresses which I cannot let go of, despite that fact that I have had them for years. They look good and feel great. I just have to remember not to have pictures taken in them, so that it isn’t obvious just HOW long I have had them! I pick a new one up now and again when I find a good one.

I prefer natural fibers in blouses. I don’t believe I have any silk at the moment, but linen and cotton are my top choices, even though they often need to be ironed, unless they are double-knit. (Cotton mixed with a little Lycra make wonderful no-iron tops that keep a bit of shape.) I have a few nylon which are very comfortable, but only in steady, moderate temperatures.

The same with slacks and skirts: cotton and linen, or a really good blend.

Plus, all of my slacks and skirts have elastic waists. Even when I was young and thin, my weight varied almost daily. Even when they had buttons or zippers, I liked the ones with a little ‘give’.

You will not find one pair of jeans in my wardrobe. Not since I was a teenager and said,  “Enough is enough; these things are not comfortable to me!”

I prefer layers. I have many over-sized shirts, a few thin ,boxy jackets and some sweaters that can be put on and taken off when the weather is cool, or stuffed into my bag for when it is warm, but wherever I happen to go they may have the A/C kicked up to ‘freeze’.

No matter what, you’ll find me color-coordinated; one print per outfit.

I do not wear t-shirts or hoodies because I know that I look unkempt in them. I don’t wear sweatpants or sweatshirts in public and seldom at home. I have no illusions as to how I look in them. I can’t walk around feeling sloppy and I never let myself be that kind of uncomfortable because it shows. Looking good means looking confident and I can’t be confident when I feel frumpy, nor can I imagine being confident when I am trying not to worry about how to breathe or happen to be wincing in pain from uncomfortable clothing . You can dress well and still be comfortable. It just takes some searching.

If I am hot enough, I have a few muumuu-type dresses. (I have been looking for elbow-length, long patio dresses. Anyone know where I can find them?)

To pick one, most comfortable piece, however, it would have to be a piece of nightwear that my niece gave to me. Actually, she regifted it to me. Her (rich lady) boss gave it to her, but since that niece is very tall, it hit a little “high-water” on her, so she gave it to me. It is cotton, thin, with a comfortable zipper up the front. I wear it as a nightgown and it is like being surrounded by a cloud. I can wear it in very warm weather and when it is quite cool. The thing must have cost a fortune, because I have worn it off and on through most of the year for many years and it is still in good shape.

Here it is; Subtle blue with white butterflies. The butterflies on the collar are embroidered, but still very soft.WP_20170521_007

You’ll never find me in a torn, sloppy robe or thread-bare pajamas. I have numerous robes in varying weights for year-around wear. I need to feel comfortable, but I need to feel good about myself. The pain that I feel in sloppy clothing is almost as painful to me as tight clothing or shoes.

How about you? Can you be sloppy and still feel comfortable and confident?

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Confidentially, I Am Comfortable

  1. jeff7salter says:

    Love jeans, but seldom wear them “around the house” anymore. For that I’m usually in fleece (winter) or cargo shorts (summer). But when I venture forth, it’s nearly always in JEANS.
    Now to your question: Can you be sloppy and still feel comfortable and confident?
    I’ve thought about this quite a bit since I retired 11 years ago. And to answer most precisely, I guess we’d have to sit down and define “sloppy.”
    I don’t like to look “sloppy” when I’m around other people, but it does not bother me to schlep around the house in what most people might discern as “sloppy.”
    But around other humans, I try to appear reasonably neat and put-together. This has been a challenge in the past two years that I’ve worn a heavy reinforced back brace, however. It’s too bulky for me to tuck in into my britches, so I have to wear it outside my pants. And to keep the brace covered, I have to wear my shirt over it. Therefore, my shirt has to stay un-tucked. I really don’t like that — it feels “sloppy” to me. But I don’t have much choice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t consider that ‘sloppy’, Jeff. I said above I wear over-blouses a lot.
      I guess though, you CAN feel good sloppy, since you schlep around in fleece!I seriously doubt, however, that you are ever ‘slovenly’.
      I know that you don’t venture out in jammies!

      Liked by 1 person

      • jeff7salter says:

        oh, yeah, I am definitely slovenly at times. Ask Denise.
        But when I appear in public, I used to always tuck in my shirt. Just felt right.
        So it bugs me now, beginning at age 65 or so, that I can’t tuck in my shirt with the back brace on.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    I’m with you on comfortable shoes. I think the last time I wore heels was on my wedding day. I can’t remember the last time I wore a nightgown – they kept getting wrapped up around me. Must be I’m a restless sleeper! I had to look up patio dresses, as I’d never heard that term. Have you looked at some of the online shops for what you want?
    Oh, and I totally agree with your one print per outfit rule.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I rather have to shop online, Patty. There is little shopping here and I always seem to be on a tight schedule when I get out of town. Patio dresses are casual, long or knee-length cotton dresses with elbow-length sleeves.

      Like

  3. I don’t have a problem wearing pj bottoms, fleece pants, or sweats around the house if it is just myself and my kids. However when I venture out or if someone comes over I make sure I don’t look like I just rolled out of bed.

    Finding comfortable shoes is definitely hard. The stores near me don’t carry my size in anything that I would wear so I order online and that makes it harder to discern comfort and proper fit.

    Like

    • Oh, buying shoes online is impossible for me anymore. Of all places, I used to find nice shoes at the KMart 30 miles from me, but it has closed down. (Cobbies, Thom McAn and another brand that I have forgotten). I found a nice, almost dressy ‘Mary Jane’ in brown leather which were surprizingly, “Earth Spirit” brand. I found cheap flats there that I am quite comfortable in. Something dressier is a problem these days.

      Like

  4. Joselyn says:

    I prefer cute and comfortable. If I spend the day in workout clothes, it’s going to be a more coordinated outfit. I have found that I can run in high heels more easily than I can walk in them. Unfortunately the events where I chose to wear them don’t require any running.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

