Summer Plans

Summer is here and things are already hectic. It’s the first week of summer vacation but the kids are all being social this summer so the plans for relaxing with my kids once I’m done with work sort of got tossed out the window.

Jessica is only four classes away from graduating and she really wants to finish up this year. We ordered her class ring a few months ago. She decided that she is going to skip a traditional summer break. Instead she is spending half her days studying (the hotter half) and the rest will be spent enjoying the warmer weather. She’s also looking for a job because she wants to buy a car before she goes away to college in 2018. Once she secures employment I doubt we will see much of her.

 

Quinlan graduated eighth grade last week. I went to the ceremony and afterward he introduced me to his girlfriend. Up until then they only saw each other at school and I had never met her. She lives across town and Quinlan is busy making plans and figuring out the local bus route. I am sure he will have the drop off locations and times memorized before the end of next week. He took a job tending to his aunt’s yard and helping her with repairs aroun her house. A month ago she injured her shoulder so she can’t do as much as she used to. There’s been talk of him helping his grandpa fix up the garage this summer as well. Add all his regular weekly appointments and he’s keeping busy as well.

 

My youngest has the goal if learning to ride his bike and to jump rope over break. He’s my little organizer. This morning before we took Quin to his appointment and then headed out for some groceries, he made a list. As we were walkin through the store he reminded me of everything we needed. When we got home he sat down and made a schedule for his days. On his schedule are things like go for a walk, tell riddles, read, Bible, math, tv, dance, and play outside. His schedule is divided up so he knows what to do before breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I have no clue how he got to be so organized.

 

As for me. Once my writing jobs are complete I have to work on new stories. I recently submitted a new children’s book which I was told was “fab”. So illustrations are nearly done for that. I have a few novels I am working on and about four more children’s stories that need to be finished up and then illustrated.

I’ve talked about getting a membership to one of the local gyms so I have to finish researching those and decide which one I want to go with.

 

Maybe once summer break is over the kids and I will relax. I’m already looking forward to a rainy day when all the kids will be content to stay home/inside and play games or watch movies.

 

What do your summer plans look like?

About Angela Schroeder

Angela Schroeder is a single mother of three. She was born and raised in Iowa in a river town known for its pearl buttons. Having four siblings, she never lacked for someone to play with. As she grew older, she found herself pulled into books and writing more and more. Her parents are her heroes, her siblings her confidants and tormentors, and her children are a wonderful blessing. Church is important to her children and her. They enjoy the friendships they’ve made with the people there. Writing has always been a passion. Her first experience was in fifth grade when she went to a one-day writing conference. After that she knew it was something she wanted to pursue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Summer Plans

  1. kathleenbee says:

    That sounds really busy. I hope you get some time to relax.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jeff7salter says:

    sounds exhausting.
    And, gosh, kids do grow up fast these days.
    Seems quite unusual for the youngest child to be so organized. I think I’d find it refreshing… not to have to remind and remind and remind a child to get XX and YY finished.
    Hope you can find some time for yourself this summer.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joselyn says:

    We have a couple fun classes lined up, but we are waiting for the date of one big thing before we plan anything else. I’m thinking about the daily schedules though. I don’t want to hear ‘when is snack time?’ 200 times a day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I always hated being asked about snacks. So last summer I let the kids pick out snacks while grocery shopping. They go on the counter and the kids can get them anytime throughout the day but once they run out they don’t get anything else until the next big shopping day (usually a week, sometimes two). They do pretty good about regulating their smacks that way. Their first week last year wasn’t so great. They ran out halfway through the week and had to go without. After that they did and it helped save my sanity. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Patricia Kiyono says:

    Sounds like you’ve got a full summer! My grandkids aren’t done with school until June 14. I took a full time job for the month of June, so my days are taken care of. But that means I have to do my writing and marketing later in the day (unless I wake up early). I’m hoping to finish a lot of craft/sewing projects this summer, plus I have two writing projects I’d like to finish.

    Like

Leave a Reply

