Buried in Books

One of our foxes asked if we’ve ever been to a book convention.

I’ve never been to a super huge convention like the Romantic Times event, although one of the authors in my local group is trying to talk me into going next year. I have been to two book events that took place closer to my home.

GLBB

Great Lakes Book Bash 2015 – with Gina Conkle and Laurie Carroll

In the fall of 2015 I participated in the very first Great Lakes Book Bash, held in Kalamazoo, MI. Since I’m leery of spending lots of money on promotions, I split the $180 cost of a table with two other authors. I’m so glad I did – I sold exactly two books that day. Although there were plenty of people shopping, it seems the only authors who could call the day a success were those who wrote paranormal and fantasy. Romance writers were left to twiddle our thumbs. The organizers are gearing up for the second Book Bash this coming October, but I didn’t reserve a table this time.

SprFl

Chicago Spring Fling 2016

In the spring of 2016 I attended the Spring Fling Conference hosted by the Chicago North chapter of Romance Writers of America (RWA). This time all of the approximately 60 participating authors wrote romance. We got our tables set up with all our goodies, and when the doors opened, the people came pouring in. They swooped through the aisles of tables, picking up all our freebies – candies, pens, notepads, and other trinkets – but hardly any books. Well, the big name authors seated at the front of the room (Robyn Carr, Lauren Dane, and Courtney Milan) kept busy signing their books, but the rest of us were sort of ignored. I did pick up a bunch of free books during the conference, as well as some good advice and ideas for books, so the trip wasn’t a total waste.

As I mentioned, a good friend is trying to talk me into going to the Romantic Times convention next May in Reno, NV. I’m not going to hope that I suddenly become famous enough to have people lining up to get my autograph, but I’ve heard about some of the fun events that take place, and it might be nice to participate. I’ve got a year to save up for it!

As for the local events, I suppose I would go again, but probably only as a reader, not as an author.

Have you attended a major book convention?

About Patricia Kiyono

During her first career, Patricia Kiyono taught elementary music, computer classes, elementary classrooms, and junior high social studies. She now teaches music education at the university level. She lives in southwest Michigan with her husband, not far from her five children, nine grandchildren (so far), and great-granddaughters. Current interests, aside from writing, include sewing, crocheting, scrapbooking, and music. A love of travel and an interest in faraway people inspires her to create stories about different cultures. Check out her sweet historical contemporary romances at her Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Patricia-Kiyono/e/B0067PSM5C/
This entry was posted in authors, Books, reading, The Author Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Buried in Books

  1. Joselyn says:

    I’ve had much the same experiences at book conventions or author events. I think the most I’ve ever sold is 2 books, maybe 4 if I count doing buy one, get one incentives. It’s hard not to be discouraged by them.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. jeff7salter says:

    I’ve been to a few and I guess you’ll learn about them on Hound Day.
    But just to add a note here: I’ve also been to some events as an interested READER (i.e., no table of my own and therefore not even able to SELL any books of mine). In the position of shopper, I found myself wanting to purchase many books which interested me. But I also felt sorry for those authors who looked lonely — few, if any customers — or forlorn. I’d stop and chat to try to cheer them up and often ended up buying books I didn’t really want.
    Maybe those investments were good for my soul, if not for my pocketbook.

    Like

  3. I agree with Jeff . I will get my ONE-cent in on Friday, with my very limited experience.

    Like

  4. A lot of the events seem like they really make these big conventions worth while. I hope you can go and that you have fun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

