I Want to Hold Your Hand

This week we are sharing a family picture that tells a story. I proposed this topic a long time ago and frankly, I don’t remember if this is the picture that I had in mind.

It has been an extraordinarily busy week, so I pulled out a copy of the picture below. (I apologize for the photo’s quality; a well-carried wallet-size was the only one I could come up with quickly.)
Scan_20170720

Yes, that is me…31 ½ years ago.

My sons have changed quite a bit, and yes, I certainly have, but my husband, not so much. He changed back right away from contacts to his glasses after this photo session and his hair is thinner on top, but he still looks much the same. He even looks much the same as his pictures from when he was a kid.

In fact, I probably should have used one or another of his family’s pictures, one of his mother waiting on the dock for his father to arrive in port, along with any number of their 15 children. (Those pictures are a hoot, especially because of some of my mother-in-law’s hats!)

But I pulled out this one for of a couple of reasons.

One is that my sons look so much like their grandfathers. The older boy looks like my father-in-law, while the younger one is obviously my father’s grandson.

I will, however, call attention to the boys’ hands as the main reason I chose this photo.

We got the baby to hold still for the first shot, but having seen many cameras, he was interested in getting his hands on the big one the man had once he realized what it was. You can see that I have his right hand, which was his natural choice to use. Then, just before the second picture was taken, he reached with his left hand and his brother caught it to hold it still.

Now, I hate to brag about the brain-power of my kids, but I will. The baby knew to hold still for one shot and then wanted to get his hands on the camera, which was so unlike the ones he had seen before. His ‘big’ brother knew not only to hold still for the photo, but took responsibility to stop his brother from moving for the next shot, all the time maintaining his own pose.

The youngest was nine months old; his brother had just turned two earlier that month.

I think the picture speaks volumes. My mother gave me no sympathy when the two little  smarty-pants ragged me out: “How sad would it be if they were poor little things that sat in a corner all day?”

Know any kids that sit in a corner all day? I don’t think they exist.

Anyway, this particular picture, (more than the  large fist shot that hangs in my living room), never ceases to amaze me.

Go ahead, have a few hoots over me, but check out the boys’ hands…then smile with me!

About Tonette Joyce

Tonette was a once-fledgling lyricists-bookkeeper, turned cook/baker/restaurateur and is now exploring different writing venues,(with a stage play recently completed). She has had poetry and nonfiction articles published in the last few years. Tonette has been married to her only serious boyfriend for more than thirty years and she is, as one person described her, family-oriented almost to a fault. Never mind how others have described her, she is,(shall we say), a sometime traditionalist of eclectic tastes.She has another blog : "Tonette Joyce:Food,Friends,Family" here at WordPress.She and guests share tips and recipes for easy entertaining and helps people to be ready for almost anything.
This entry was posted in childhood, experiences, Family, Life, memories, Tonette Joyce, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I Want to Hold Your Hand

  1. What a lovely picture. When I first saw the hands I passed it was posed by the photographer. I love the story behind it, it makes the photo that much sweeter.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Patricia Kiyono says:

    What a good big brother! My older daughter was always looking out for her little sister and trying to keep her in line. I, on the other hand, left my little brothers to fend for themselves. At least that’s what my mom tells me.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. jeff7salter says:

    I’m smiling.
    Terrific family photo and — unlike any of ours that I can recall — EVERY face in your pix has a lovely expression. We almost always had someone scowling or crying… or me avoiding a smile because (when frozen by the camera) they make me look idiotic.
    Love the anecdote about the baby’s hands.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joselyn says:

    I think it’s a sweet photograph with so many great memories. You can almost see him ready to leap.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

